Random Musings by Frodosco

“If I Were a Book” Tag

If I Were a Book

This is a booktuber tag, booktubers for those who don’t know are youtubers that talk about bookish stuffs, created by Jenni Marie. Here is the original tag video if you’d like to check it out. I wasn’t tagged, but this looked pretty fun, so I thought I’d give it a go anyway. Also, the reason I’m doing this instead of Book of the Week is because that would have been The Unbound by Victoria Schwab, but I already reviewed that on its release day, check that out here. Now, let’s get into the tag! ^.^

The Questions

 1. What would the title of your book be? – For this I chose Pressure by Jeff Strand because it seems like my whole life I have been pressured to meet certain expectations. Oh he reads a lot so he must be smart, since he’s smart he should do really well in school, once he’s done well through grade school he should go to college and succeed there, becoming a scientist or lawyer. I know that sounds depressing, but that’s how it was growing up, sometimes it still feels that way.

Jeremy C. Shipp 2. What author would write your story? – This one was easy, I’d go with my favorite indie author, and bizarro/horror writer, Jeremy C. Shipp. His books are funny in a dark way, never give up anything before just the right moment, and always look at the minds of people and what makes them the way they are, then twisting that reality a bit. I couldn’t ask for anyone better to write my story.

In the After 3. What book cover would you choose? – This was one of the toughest questions, as there are so many amazing covers in my collection. I wanted something that was somewhat dark, gloomy, but not overly so, it needed an edge to it, just like the one I have. I landed on In the After by Demitria Lunetta. It has a darker tone to it, and what made it perfect was that it looks like cracks in the pavement, just like the ones I have mentally when I’m under the aforementioned pressure. 

Hardcover 4. Would your book be paperback or hardcover? – My book would definitely be hardcover. Despite pressure from family, friends, schoolmates, and perhaps more than all (because of wanting to meet the expectations of others) myself, I’m still alive and kicking. So the hardcover would signify my tougher outer shell, with the gooey insides being the pages, though I hope that they aren’t actually that texture. Ew.

InheritanceCycleCovers 5. How long would it be? – My favorite reading length is usually 300-350 pages, but some of my favorite reads ever are twice that length or more. Books like Harry Potter, Lord of the Rings, and the Inheritance Cycle rank up there as some of the best I’ve ever read, so perhaps I’d be a longer book. It’s hard to say seeing as I haven’t lived that long yet, but I guess it would average out to around 400 pages or so.

Monstrosities 6. What genre would it be and why? – Sticking with theme I have going so far, and with the knowledge of what Jeremy C. Shipp excels at, I’d say a bizarro/horror mix would be very appropriate. I think even the darkest parts would be able to be made humorous with Shipp’s abilities, and there are definitely bizarre parts that would have to be included. The Monstrosities book, the image that you see to the left, is a great example of this type.

The Aussie Zombie 7. Whose review would you want printed on the back of your book? – Out of the blogs that I visit most I feel like Kat at The Aussie Zombie would be the best suited to read this kind of book. While I don’t know that my book would be a zombie or post-apocalyptic one (though Shipp could certainly work with that), a bizarro/horror genre book definitely fits in Kat’s wheelhouse. Hopefully she would like me (the book)! ^.^

I hope you enjoyed this random book tag post! I highly recommend checking out the tag videos that are up already, my favorite being Raeleen Lemay’s over at padfootandprongs07. Her videos are wonderful. Thanks as always for reading! ^.^

You want to leave a comment? Awesome! I read every one! ^.^

