Random Musings by Frodosco

Top Ten Things On My Reading Wishlist

TotallyRandomTuesday

Totally Random Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. This feature was created because they are particularly fond of lists at The Broke and the Bookish. They love to share their lists with other bookish folks and would LOVE to see your top ten lists!

This week on Top Ten Tuesday it is all about things on my reading wishlist! This can be anything that I want authors to write about; characters, issues, time periods, particular plots, and more. So here are a few on my list! ^.^

1. The Mongols – Really anything involving the mongols, even potentially non fiction if it is compelling, but fiction with them involved would be AMAZING. They are, as John Green often says, “the exception” and I think that there is a lot to work with there.

2. Horror – I don’t mean the genre, because I know people are still writing it, but I want to be freaked out. Mess with my mind, make me think one thing and lead me down a winding false trail, then slap me in the face with reality. Scare me. I’m begging.

3. An Abundance of Katherines 2 – I’m not being literal, or asking John Green for a sequel, but more stuff like this book would be perfect. Flawed geniuses, a story of finding yourself, nerdiness and mathematics combined to produce witty dialogue. Maybe it is out there already, but I want MOAR. o_o

4. Samurai – Yes, there are plenty of books with them in it, but I’m looking for a story showing the process of becoming one. Something detailing the trials and the emotions someone might feel if they were forced to go down that road, even if they come to disagree with what they learn about the emperor and empire they were serving.

5. More College Books – Not textbooks mind you, I have plenty of those. >.< I want college settings with classes and meal plans and real, regular college life. I don’t need more “New Adult” sex/drama/love triangle focused repetition.

6. Flawed Love Interests – I don’t care if they are male, female, alien, shapeshifter, or otherwise, just please stop creating these seemingly perfect beings that the MC can’t help but fall for. Make them…people, that’s all I ask.

7. Dystopian – The genre seems to be doing pretty well for itself, but rugged, tough, and dangerous worlds seem to be giving way to Divergent-esque “less than perfect” ones that, while they can be great stories, feel too shiny and polished for what I thought dystopian would be. Maybe I don’t know the genre as well as I should, but I’m looking for something…harsher. Think Ann Aguirre’s Razorland trilogy.

8. Mythology – Greek, Roman, Egyptian, Norse, anything really. I luckily have a bunch of Rick Riordan’s books to help in this area that I will be reading this year, but there can always be more of this sort of thing I feel. Antigoddess by Kendare Blake is the best example for how to do it right.

9. No Cliffhangers – Sure, books in series need to leave questions unanswered in order to have the reader wanting to keep going with the story, or at least it doesn’t hurt. However, making the book feel incomplete by itself because major plot elements are left hanging or twists are thrown in at the VERY end doesn’t make for a good transition, it’s just frustrating.

10. Tsars of Russia – I find this time period to be fascinating, that of the Tsars (or czars), the changing of dynasties, capital locations, plenty of wars and civil unrest. There seems to be so much to work with here but I rarely (if ever) hear about books, especially in fiction, about this era. I’d love some!

So those are the top ten things on my reading wishlist! What is your top ten list for this week? Are your wishes for new worlds, characters, or plots? Are they perhaps about a particular genre or set of issues you want more content on? Let me know! Thanks as always for reading! ^.^

10 responses

  1. I would love more mythology and samurai books, or I guess I should say…I would love more QUALITY mythology and samurai books. I love Rick Riordan’s books though.

    January 20, 2014 at 11:29 pm

    • Rick Riordan’s books have become my go to for immediately getting out of a bookish slump or even just something safe to read after a DNF/1-star. Sooo good, but with their being a finite amount of them, I need mooooore! ^.^

      January 21, 2014 at 7:19 am

  2. Jessica @ a GREAT read

    I’m all for no cliffhangers. It’s not that I hate them, it’s the waiting and waiting that I hate!

    Here’s my Tuesday post

    Have a GREAT day!

    Old Follower 🙂

    January 21, 2014 at 5:45 am

  3. Okay, I totally love your list! I remember some time ago seeing a book about Genghis Khan. I saw it in a store, picked it up, but ultimately decided I couldn’t spend the money. It looked AWESOME though. I think it was either called Genghis, or maybe it was just Kahn, I can’t remember, but I’d love to find that book, or others like it again. I like Samurai stuff too. I”m assuming you’ve seen the Tom Cruise movie, The Last Samurai? It’s one of my faves. I know what you mean about dystopian, as well. I write it myself. I”m not sure if my series, Interchron, would be your cup of tea, but I definitely write different dystopian than most of what we see today, and for the same reasons you list. Also, you should check out Dan Wells’ Partials. It’s one of my favorite dystopians on the market, but it’s vastly underread and underrated. Finally, hooray for Tsars of Russia! In May of this year, my book Citadels of Fire, book 1 of a trilogy is coming out. It’s set in Russia in the Middle ages, during the reign of Ivan the Terrible. Thought you might like to know about it. Here’s a link that’ll have a description. Anyway, sorry for the book-long comment. Seriously awesome list! 😀

    My TTT

    January 21, 2014 at 10:02 am

    • Never apologize for long comments, they are always welcome! ^.^ I have seen (and enjoyed) The Last Samurai, and books with that kind of feel would be great. I checked out (and instantly pre-ordered) Citadels of Fire so I look forward to reading that when it comes out! Russia, Middle Ages, Ivan the Terrible? Sold! Thanks so much for stopping by!

      January 21, 2014 at 11:22 am

  4. I too would love more creepy horror! And more college settings but not in the current New Adult vein. Just stuff with characters of that age and campus settings.

    January 21, 2014 at 10:41 am

    • I don’t mean in what has become “New Adult” because all that seems to be is college-age romance and sex scenes + drama, not what I was hoping for with that age range. That’s why I wanted more realism to become what New Adult was probably supposed to be to begin with. ^.^

      January 21, 2014 at 11:16 am

  5. I would love to see horror books that are actually scary/mess with your mind. I have stopped reading that genre before they tend to lack the scary feelings that I tend to associate with the term horror. Samurai, Mongols and Mythology are also great choices.

    January 21, 2014 at 1:19 pm

  6. I think I have created…a masterpiece. In my weird head. Here is the imaginary blurb:
    Mongols fighting samurai in a horror-dystopian book to entertain the Tsar of Russia by recreating a mythological happening between flawed characters with flawed love interests with the ultimate prize of going to college. Oh, and don’t worry, no cliffhanger!
    What do you think haha?

    January 21, 2014 at 8:17 pm

  7. Pingback: Sunday Post #15 | Frodo's Blog of Randomness

You want to leave a comment? Awesome! I read every one! ^.^

