Random Musings by Frodosco

Goals and Challenges for 2014

It’s a brand new year and I plan to enjoy it with as much bookish awesomeness as I can possibly handle, which (if everything goes well) will be a lot. If you’ve been following the blog since the beginning of 2013 (which is freaking amazing if there is anyone out there who has) then you know about my 365 books in 365 days challenge that I attempted. I only lasted around 90 days that time, but this year WILL go all the way to the finish!

365 Books AND Posts in 365 Days Challenge

Last year I was trying to review EVERY book I read, and it burnt me out rather quickly. This year the goal has been tweaked so I can make this doable for me, and more enjoyable for you. I have a set schedule, most of the features are weekly, and I won’t review every book, but you WILL get a recap/rating at the end of each week. More on that later.

This challenge is simple, I read one book for every day in the year and post on the blog every day. I can read multiple books in a day to get ahead, but even if I post more than once in a day on the blog I still have to post EVERY day. Make sense? Alrighty!

Other Challenges!

Mount TBR & 2014 TBR Pile: These go together since they both involve my TBR, and the 2014 TBR Pile (hosted by Evie over at Bookish) has a maximum of 50, while Mount TBR (hosted by Bev at My Reader’s Block) has a max goal of 150+. My goal is 200 books off my TBR which should be quite manageable since I don’t plan to buy more than 165 books this year. 😛 If I’m successful my print TBR will all but disappear, at least those I bought prior to this year. Wouldn’t that be crazy? This is the majority of what I’m tackling:

Print TBR 3

Seriously Series Reading Challenge: This challenge is another great one because it will give me extra motivation to complete entire series so that I can make progress on the pretty progress bar on my sidebar. Seriously Series is hosted by one of my favorite bookish people, Kelly, at Reading the Paranormal, and my goal is (for now) at 75 books, because I have SO MANY book 1s in series and I don’t know how many I’ll continue, so this is a safe starting point.

New Author 2014 Reading Challenge: I love reading books from new authors, whether they are debut authors or just ones I’ve never had the opportunity to enjoy, and when I found out about this challenge I immediately was drawn to it. This is one of two new challenges I’ll be attempting this year, and the New Author Challenge by Jackie at Literary Escapism will ensure that I read all sorts of new styles and worlds to keep things fresh. I can’t wait! My goal is the maximum for this challenge, 50 new authors.

2014 Ebook Reading Challenge: The second brand new challenge for this year, the Ebook Reading Challenge hosted by Sarah at Workaday Reads, has even spawned a new weekly feature which I’ll talk about shortly, and is the only really limiting challenge I’m taking part in. My Kindle app tends to be forgotten with all of the pretty print books right nearby, and I wanted to attempt to whittle the crazy number of ebooks down a bit. My starting goal is 75 or “Hard Drive” (out of the maximum 150) and it should be a nice change of pace at times.

*Sidenote – All of these challenges can be combined so I’m not trying to read ~400 books, just 365. ^.^

Blog Features and My Schedule

MiniReviewMonday Monday – Mini Review Monday: Same as it ever was, a short and sweet review that can be any kind of book, in any format or genre. This allows me to get my feelings out about a book, but without going into as much detail as a full review, and I’m often more passionate in these.

TotallyRandomTuesday Tuesday – Totally Random Tuesday: Mostly this will be Top Ten Tuesday as I do love lists, but it can be an extra review day, or something completely off the cuff. Enjoy the randomness! ^.^

Waiting On Wednesday hosted by Breaking The Spine Wednesday – Waiting on Wednesday/YA Wednesday: I’m back on the WoW train (not the video game) so that will be the usual feature, but again it could be an extra review if something YA is just that awesome in any given week.

Thursday – Killing My Kindle: Every week I will talk about an Ebook I read, be it good or bad, so that I can stay motivated to tackle my overwhelming Kindle library and share some of it with you. I’m really excited about this one!

Frodo's Frisky Friday Friday – Frodo’s Frisky Friday/Regular Review: Roughly every other week I will have Frodo’s Frisky Friday where I review a book that is either Adult, “naughty”, or has mature content of some kind. The other weeks this will be a spot with a regular review since this blog is mostly aimed at a YA audience.

Saturday – Book of the Week: This is exactly what it sounds like. Every Saturday I will talk about my favorite book that I read that week, whether it be a review or a spotlight, or maybe having the author over to talk about it. Regardless this is the best book I read that week. Yay for new features! ^.^

Sunday Post hosted by Kimba the Caffeinated Book Reviewer Sunday – Sunday Post: I want to do this every week even if I don’t have a book haul as part of it. I’ll list the books I read that week, give a rating and a brief summary of my feelings on it, and let you know about any fun things I am taking part in for the following week.

** Sidenote – All of these are the regular features, but if I am taking part in a readathon, blog tour, or other bookish event then I may post about that instead. Regardless you will get something every day! I hope you can handle it! 😛

2014

I’m so excited for this year and hopefully you will join me on this crazy ride of bookish goodness. I know I’ll make new friends, talk with more amazing authors, and gush over all of the great books there are whether they are just coming out or are ones I should have read last year or even before. If you have a goal post like this or want to share your excitement for the new year feel free to comment or link me up to the appropriate post, I’d love to see what your plans are! Now if you’ll excuse me, I have a book (or 365) to read.

6 responses

  1. I look forward to seeing your reviews this year! I need to do something about my Kindle library..it’s a tad out of control.

    January 2, 2014 at 6:58 pm

    • With all the freebies and discounts for eBooks constantly popping up and the crazy amount of pretty print books we book bloggers tend to be buying as well it isn’t much of a surprise that the Kindle library gets a tad wacky. If I had a Kindle maybe I’d read them more often, but it’s not as easy to curl up with my computer as it is a book. ^.^

      January 3, 2014 at 3:32 am

  2. I’ve joined TBR, too. Here’s mine: http://61musings.com/currently-reading/
    I’m following you now so I can keep an eye on your progress. Have fun!

    January 3, 2014 at 11:45 am

  3. I’m hoping to do my first read-a-thon ever this year (Bout of Books) and I just signed myself up for a Goodreads annual challenge – I decided on 100 books for the latter and 5 for the former. I’m hoping these are all very possible… We shall see! 🙂 Good luck in 2014 honey; that’s an awful lot of memes!

    January 3, 2014 at 1:31 pm

  4. Pingback: Sunday Post #12 | Frodo's Blog of Randomness

  5. Pingback: Top Ten Goals/Resolutions for 2014 | Frodo's Blog of Randomness

You want to leave a comment? Awesome! I read every one! ^.^

