Random Musings by Frodosco

Top Ten New-To-Me Authors I Read In 2013

TotallyRandomTuesday

Totally Random Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. This feature was created because they are particularly fond of lists at The Broke and the Bookish. They love to share their lists with other bookish folks and would LOVE to see your top ten lists!

This week on Top Ten Tuesday it is all about the new authors you discovered this year! This was my first year where I really dove into reading at a higher, book blogger-level pace, so pretty much all of the authors I read this year were new for me.  So these are just SOME of my favorites in no particular order. Enjoy! ^.^

1. Jay Asher – Author of Thirteen Reasons Why, my favorite book I read in 2013. I LOVED that book for reasons I can’t even explain. It was easily the book that hit me the hardest emotionally, where I felt like the book really took me to that story and forced me to live through every ordeal and difficulty along with the characters. It was brutal, it was draining, and I loved it, so for that Asher is on this list.

2. A.G. Howard – Author of Splintered, my favorite debut of 2013 by a wide margin, and someone who I’ve even had the pleasure of speaking with on Twitter! She is so sweet, and Splintered being her debut with how amazing it was still boggles my mind. I look forward to reading Unhinged so I have an excuse to talk with/about her more just as much as for the book itself. ^.^

3. Gail Carriger – Author of Etiquette & Espionage, my favorite book outside of my usual genres and also in my top 5 overall for the year. I haven’t spoken to Carriger, but I did REALLY enjoy E&E and need to get to book two early next year. Her writing, engaging characters, and fantastic world building do it for me in every way and I get to read steampunk!

4. Ann Aguirre – Author of Enclave and Outpost, two more of my favorite reads of the year and the best dystopian series out there. Aguirre is someone I respect as an author, a person, and as someone who fights against adversity and stereotyping. I became such a big fan of her and her work that I bought EVERY single book she has out for my print collection, and her discussion on females in science fiction writing was a huge part of that. If you haven’t read it I highly encourage you to do so here. I can’t say enough nice things about her, she’s an inspiration.

5. Victoria Schwab – Author of The Archived, a book that definitely made my top ten for the year and a series I can’t wait to continue in January when The Unbound is released. Schwab is one of the best bookish/author personalities on Twitter, really fun to talk to, and I loved The Archived so more of her books in my life in 2014 will be wonderful.

6. Leigh Wilder – Author of the Deadly Liaisons series and one of my best author friends on Twitter. Her naughty books add some spice to my reading life which is much needed and her writing is excellent. She’s got a great sense of humor, I love talking to her as often as I can manage, and I can’t wait for more of her work next year.

7. Zoe E. Whitten – Author of Peter the Wolf and Penny for Your Debts, one of the most skilled writers you probably (sadly) haven’t heard of, and whose collection I own on my Kindle app on my computer. She is another of my best author friends on Twitter, and someone I could never get tired of talking to. She’s amazing and so are her books, I look forward to reading more in 2014. ^.^

8. Rick Riordan – Author of the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series and someone I’m sure  anyone reading this knows all about. I found out about Riordan way late in the game, but I enjoyed the first two Percy Jackson books and I’m excited to read more by him next year.

9. Larry Kollar – Author of Accidental Sorcerers and White Pickups, someone you probably (and again sadly) might not have heard of, and a great friend of mine on Twitter. Larry is a great guy, always funny, and one of the most enthusiastic authors that I’ve come across. I enjoyed his series thus far and look forward to see what he has in store for 2014! ^.^

10. Maureen Johnson – Author of The Name of the Star, a name the vast majority of you know, and a fellow nerdfighter. I’ve only read The Name of the Star by her so far, despite owning the sequel, but I did enjoy it and Maureen, of course, is amazing on all fronts so I’m sure I’ll like the rest of her work too. She’s hilarious, a fantastic Twitter personality, and great on vlogbrothers videos. Need I say more?

So those are the top ten new-to-me authors for this year! What is your top ten list for this week? Are your authors mainstream, indie, or a mix? Are they ones that debuted in 2013 or, like mine, have been at it for a while? Let me know! Thanks as always for reading! ^.^

9 responses

  1. I’ve also discovered A.G Howard this year. I loved Splintered and can’t wait to read Unhinged. Great list!

    December 17, 2013 at 12:35 am

    • Unhinged should be fantastic from what I’ve heard by book bloggers with access to the ARC. Howard is so much fun to talk to on Twitter too, thanks for stopping by!

      December 17, 2013 at 11:22 am

  2. Jessica @ a GREAT read

    Oh nice! I love Gail Carriger! I’ve read mostly her adult books. I liked E&E and still have to read C&C still. But her adult series was awesome!! Maureen Johnson is another fave author of mine. Keep putting off reading her second book because I heard of this killer cliffhanger! Almost a year and I am already going crazy!

    Nice list!

    Here’s my Tuesday Post

    Have a GREAT day!

    Old Follower 🙂

    December 17, 2013 at 5:45 am

  3. I have Enclave on my Kindle. I swear I will get to it next year. lol. And yay Rick Riordan ! I love the Percy Jackson books.

    December 17, 2013 at 7:35 am

    • It really is a great series, as is Percy Jackson! I’m waiting until next year to dive into Horde but I’m sure that will be just as well written. Thanks for stopping by!

      December 17, 2013 at 11:24 am

  4. So glad you enjoyed the Percy Jackson Books! Planning on re-reading them all this coming year! Great list 🙂

    December 17, 2013 at 8:36 am

    • I still need to read 3-5, but I’m sure I’ll like those too, enjoy re-reading them! Thanks for reading the post! ^.^

      December 17, 2013 at 11:25 am

  5. Pingback: End of Year Book Survey for 2013 | Frodo's Blog of Randomness

  6. What’s up it’s me, I am also visiting this site on a regular basis, this web page is
    really good and the visitors are genuinely sharing pleasant thoughts.

    August 6, 2014 at 1:04 pm

You want to leave a comment? Awesome! I read every one! ^.^

