Random Musings by Frodosco

Top Ten Books on My Winter TBR

TotallyRandomTuesday

Totally Random Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. This feature was created because they are particularly fond of lists at The Broke and the Bookish. They love to share their lists with other bookish folks and would LOVE to see your top ten lists!

This week on Top Ten Tuesday it is all about the books you can’t wait to read this winter! I’m not going to be doing much reading with finals going on in the next couple weeks for college, so this is my top ten for January. ^.^

1. Unhinged by A.G. Howard – This was my latest Waiting on Wednesday and with Splintered being in my top 5 favorite reads of 2013, my anticipation for Unhinged is unmeasurable. I’ll be doing a review on the release day so look for that!

2. The Unbound by Victoria Schwab – I really enjoyed The Archived earlier this year, and I’m sure The Unbound will have me raving as well. Another book I have on pre-order and plan to review on the release day. Huzzah for planning ahead! ^.^ 

3. Bang by Lisa McMann – Crash was an enjoyable read for me, and I like McMann’s style of writing quite a bit. Bang is pretty short so I should breeze through this one and it is quite literally staring at me on my stacks of books, waiting, watching.

4. Horde by Ann Aguirre – The only reason I haven’t read this already (besides a lack of time) is because I’m saving it for the 365 books in 365 days challenge that I will be doing next year. I loved Enclave and Outpost, and I’m sure Horde will meet and even surpass my lofty expectations. The day I get to read this will be a fun one.

5. Curtsies & Conspiracies by Gail Carriger – Etiquette and Espionage is another book in my top 5 for 2013, so to say I am looking forward to reading Curtsies & Conspiracies would be a massive understatement. These books have fabulous characters, a creative spin on werewolves and vampires, and THE MOST AMAZING WRITING EVER. I’m fine…really I swear. >.>

6. Another Little Piece by Kate Karyus Quinn – I know, I know, this was released this summer, but I haven’t read it yet! All I have heard about this book is that it’s one of the best “mind fucks” out there right now, which has me really eager to dive in. Can’t wait!

7. In the After by Demitria Lunetta – Another book released this summer that I didn’t devour along with seemingly everyone else. I hesitate to read this in January with In the End not coming out until June of next year, but the wonderful people at Epic Reads keep saying how the first 100 pages are the best they’ve probably read this year. I can’t resist!

8. Pivot Point by Kasie West – I swear I’m reading this in January no matter what! It came out all the way back in February of this year and it’s been sitting on my shelves for roughly that same amount of time along with all of the other neglected books I plan to read next year during the challenge. I know it is going to be good, it will be a stress free reading day because of it, and I’m psyched! Emerald Green

9. 3:59 by Gretchen McNeil – 3:59 came out in mid September this year and I mostly want to get into this one because of how much I like and respect McNeil as a person. I follow her on Twitter, read any content by/about her (which came out a bit more stalkery then I had intended), and just think she’s awesome. If 3:59 is half as amazing as she is I’ll be in for a great time.

10. Emerald Green by Kerstin Gier – Book three in the Ruby Red Trilogy, Emerald Green will complete a series that still has me flummoxed. I LOVE certain elements like the characters Lucy and Paul (whom I hope have bigger roles in Emerald Green), Madame Rossini and her fabulous dresses and accessories, and TIME TRAVEL because who doesn’t love time travel? However, the MC, Gwen, is not my favorite and the romance going on isn’t either, but I’m still really excited to finish the trilogy. Where will Gier take us next?

So those are the top ten books I can’t wait to read this winter (specifically in January)! What is your top ten list for this week? Are yours spread out over the course of the winter months? Are they all new books or do you have a few that you’ve put off until now? Let me know! Thanks as always for reading! ^.^

9 responses

  1. Jessica @ a GREAT read

    OOoh nice! I still need to start the Ruby Red trilogy! Have the first one and an ARC of the third, no book 2! 😛

    Also need to read Curtsies and Conspiracies! Great list!

    Here’s my Tuesday Post

    Have a GREAT day!

    Old Follower 🙂

    December 10, 2013 at 6:10 am

  2. Great list! I haven’t read Archived yet, but I REALLY want to. Love the premise. Then I’ll be happy to move onto book 2. 😀 Happy Tuesday!

    December 10, 2013 at 10:10 am

    • The Archived is definitely a fun read. The world Schwab creates will make you just as excited for The Unbound as I am! ^.^ Thanks for stopping by!

      December 10, 2013 at 11:58 am

  3. I need to read every book on your list, including the Archived which isn’t. I’m super excited to get a copy of Emerald Green though! I’m hoping to get a copy after Christmas 🙂

    December 10, 2013 at 10:18 am

    • I’m glad you liked the list! I figured I picked some pretty popular books, but I hoped there would at least be a couple people hadn’t read, and it seems The Archived (even though it wasn’t technically included) is a common one. I hope you get Emerald Green and we both love it! Happy reading and thanks for stopping by! ^.^

      December 10, 2013 at 11:59 am

  4. A lot of the books on your list are on my tbr. I still need to pick up The Archived, SO many people have read and raved about it and I am desperate to pick up a copy of it. I’m looking forward to getting to Another Little Piece, and everything I’ve heard about it has made me super excited to read it. Happy reading!

    My Top Ten

    December 10, 2013 at 3:03 pm

  5. melissamyworldinwordsandpages

    I need to get Horde yet. I really want to finish off that series. Hope you get to and enjoy all your winter reads. 🙂

    December 10, 2013 at 6:20 pm

  6. Pingback: Sunday Post #11 | Frodo's Blog of Randomness

  7. I REALLY want to read Archived. And I think Pivot Point has been sitting on my kindle forever, too. Hopefully I’ll get to both of them this year. 😀 Happy Tuesday!

    My TTT

    December 17, 2013 at 10:16 am

You want to leave a comment? Awesome! I read every one! ^.^

