Random Musings by Frodosco

Top Ten Best Sequels Ever

TotallyRandomTuesday

Totally Random Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. This feature was created because they are particularly fond of lists at The Broke and the Bookish. They love to share their lists with other bookish folks and would LOVE to see your top ten lists!

This week on Top Ten Tuesday it is all about the best sequels eveeeeeeeeer! ^.^

1. Eldest (Inheritance Cycle #2) by Christopher Paolini – This book is still one of my favorites and I really need to re-read it soon. It literally changed my life in ways I can’t accurately describe. Also ELVES. Eldest

2. The Two Towers (The Lord of the Rings #2) by J.R.R. Tolkien – Like I wasn’t going to include book two of my favorite series ever, come on. Seriously though The Two Towers has epic battles, ENTS, and whatever the Aragorn and Eowyn ship is called, that, yes please.

3. Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince (Harry Potter #6) by J.K. Rowling – I did it! I managed just to pick one, huzzah! Really I could have put the whole series as it kept getting better, but I picked six which is still my favorite, possibly, just maybe because of a certain kiss. ^.^

4. The Sea of Monsters (Percy Jackson and the Olympians #2) by Rick Riordan – The main reason I chose book two for this series, besides it being really, really good, is that I am a terrible horrible person and haven’t even read book three yet. >.< I’ll get to them I swear! *hides*

5. Girl of Nightmares (Anna #2) by Kendare Blake – I basically lost my mind after I finished this book…to the point where I went on Twitter, asked the author (who was kind enough to respond) if there was a book three coming, and when I found out there wasn’t proceeded to absolutely lose my shit. Luckily this was just done in my house, a few I NEED MOOOOAAAAAAR type tweets, and nothing I really regret. Seriously though. Please? Book three? I’m begging here. GoN

6. Necromancing the Stone (Necromancer #2) by Lish McBride – Well…this series does technically continue into books three and four…but they don’t come until like ~2015 and from what I’ve heard it doesn’t seem like they even follow quite the same arc, just maybe in the same universe or something. Regardless, I really loved Necromancing the Stone, the hard edge that it got after the humorous/light-hearted book one, and how McBride ended what, I thought at the time at least, was a duology.

7. Shades of War (Sevy #2) by Sarah-Jane Lehoux – Another book that had me filled with ALL the emotions. I love Sevy, I think this is my favorite book in the series because of where she is at in her journey and the setting as well (pretty jungle!), and there is a really fun monkey in it. Nope, I’m not explaining that further, go read the book (and the series) if you haven’t already. Thank me later. ^.^

8. The Reality Bug (Pendragon #4) by D.J. MacHale – Love, love, love this series and it kills me that I haven’t finished it. The Reality Bug is my favorite, though The Never War is close, because it addresses one of the big fears some people have today, that we are losing ourselves to the virtual world. It goes to an extreme to make this point, but in a good way, and I happen to really like Aja, the traveler in this world. She’s just fantastic.

9. Ptolemy’s Gate (Bartimaeus #3) by Jonathan Stroud – I’ve re-read this series more than any other besides Harry Potter and The Lord of the Rings, oh ya, it’s THAT good. Ptolemy’s Gate is the epic conclusion, driving daggers into your heart, filled with awesome battles, and I am all about the Nathaniel/Kitty ship. Yes please. Love this book and the series so much. Ptolemy's Gate

10. The Eternity Code (Artemis Fowl #3) by Eoin Colfer – Another series I stopped reading for no apparent (or at least good) reason that I need to get back to and finish. The Eternity Code is where I felt the series really took off after book two left me a bit cold (pardon the pun), and I really do love me some supercomputers. Oh, and more fairies? Always.

So those are my top ten best sequels ever! I now want to go re-read all of those series. *sobs for lack of time* Some day! What is your top ten list for this week? Do you want to re-read ALL THE SERIES now? Are most of the ones you chose recent series or ones you read when you were younger? Let me know! Thanks as always for reading! ^.^

2 responses

  1. I love The Prisoner of Azkaban out of all of the Harry Potter books, but you’re right, all of them could easily be on one list. Great choices! 😀

    September 24, 2013 at 8:25 am

  2. The Two Towers! Good call! Eldest made my list as well. And I’m planning to read Girl of Nightmares next month. Glad to find that it’s good! I really loved book 1. 😀

    My TTT

    September 24, 2013 at 8:45 am

You want to leave a comment? Awesome! I read every one! ^.^

