Random Musings by Frodosco

Sunday Post #8

Sunday Post hosted by Kimba the Caffeinated Book Reviewer

Sunday Post

The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted by the amazing Kimba the Caffeinated Book Reviewer. It is a chance to share news, recap the past week on your blog, showcase books and things we have received and share news about what is coming up on our blog for the week ahead.

I have decided to make The Sunday Post a monthly feature at the blog and will use it to do a book haul and do a recap of what’s gone on around the blog during the last month.

Ze Book Haul

Bought

Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher

Scorch by Gina Damico

Scarlet by A.C. Gaughen

Suite Scarlett by Maureen Johnson

The Beginning of Everything by Robyn Schneider

Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell

How to Lead a Life of Crime by Kirsten Miller

Elemental by Antony John

The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey

Gated by Amy Christine Parker

Keeper of the Lost Cities by Shannon Messenger

The Treachery of Beautiful Things by Ruth Frances Long

Perdition by Ann Aguirre

Soulless by Gail Carriger

Touched by an Alien by Gini Koch

Vacation, Fungus of the Heart, Cursed & Sheep and Wolves by Jeremy C. Shipp

Won

Fantasy Life by Matthew Berry

Contaminated by Em Garner

Bought and Read Already

Indelible by Dawn Metcalf – 4/5 (Review to come)

Croak by Gina Damico – 4/5 (Review to come)

August was a pretty good month in terms of new books. The Wall O’ Books, aka my print TBR, continues to grow and taunt me as if it knows I can’t read all of the pretties anytime soon. Most of the books in the first picture are ones recommended by Kat over at Katytastic and I love her for it since I really needed some contemporaries to go with all of my fantasy/sci-fi/paranormal stuff. Keeper of the Lost Cities & The Treachery of Beautiful Things were both just released in paperback form so I thought it was a great time to grab them. Perdition, The Beginning of Everything, Gated & Indelible were all brand new releases I had on pre-order. All of the Jeremy C. Shipp books were ones I had been meaning to get for a while and now I finally have them on my shelves! Fantasy Life (all about fantasy football) I won by signing up for a fantasy sports website which was pretty cool and Contaminated was won in a giveaway over at My Shelf Confessions!

Month in Review

I hosted a giveaway as part of the Summer Road Trip Giveaway Hop that was very successful in terms of entries!

Participated in The Books, Brains ‘n Blood and Bout of Books readathons!

Revealed my brand new blog schedule!

I also published 8 reviews including one of the best I’ve ever written, Wise Young Fool by Sean Beaudoin!

What’s Happening in September?

The new schedule is here and begins this week! The only exception will be no Mini Review Monday due to this monthly post going up the day before. However you will get Totally Random Tuesday, YA Wednesday, Frodo’s Frisky Friday and Standard Review Sunday this week! I hope you’re excited for all of that because I’m pumped to get those features going in full swing. ^.^ I will also be hosting a giveaway as part of the Off to Oz Giveaway Hop on September 10th! Finally, my review as part of the Nemesis Blog Tour will go up on September 16th and I’d love for you to check it out! Thanks for stopping by, feel free to leave a link to your Sunday Post or whatever other bookish meme you partake in over the weekend and I will be sure to stop by! Enjoy your Sunday and see you next month! 🙂

11 responses

  1. I am glad you liked Croak..I loved the snark, and woo-hoo you got 5th Wave! Glad we will see ya on the post once a month, I love checking out your goodies and seeing what delightful things you have found and read!

    September 1, 2013 at 12:24 am

    • I liked it enough that I ordered Scorch and pre-ordered Rogue right after. XD That has nothing to do with being a bit crazy with book buying, nope. ^.^ It’s good to be back! I’ve always loved your feature, as well as the rest of your bloggy goodness of course, and once a month seems like a good amount for me. 🙂

      September 1, 2013 at 8:41 am

  2. Before I saw that this was a monthly haul I freaked out over how many books I thought you bought in a week, lol. I’m still jealous of all the awesome books! I’m curious to see what you think of The 5th Wave, it’s definitely one that I loved.

    September 1, 2013 at 12:27 am

  3. Soulless is a fantastic read – hope you enjoy it.
    Good luck with the new blog schedule.

    My Sunday Post

    September 1, 2013 at 1:08 am

  4. Wow those books… *drool* Watch out, someone my snatch them when you aren’t looking! 😉

    Sarah @ Kitties Like Books Too

    September 1, 2013 at 3:41 am

  5. kimberlyfaye

    You got some fantastic books! I loved Eleanor & Park. I can’t wait to read The Beginning of Everything and Fifth Wave.

    Happy reading!

    My Sunday Post.

    September 1, 2013 at 6:12 am

  6. It seems like I’ve been trying to read Soulless for years now. Like you, my TBR books just sit there and stare at me. Accusingly. Or menacingly. Not sure which.

    September 1, 2013 at 6:47 am

  7. Its a great group of book that you got. So many good ones. 🙂

    Jenea @ Books Live Forever’s Sunday Post

    September 1, 2013 at 6:49 am

  8. Jessica@a GREAT read

    Wow! Awesome haul! I loooved Gail Carriger’s Parasol Protectorate series! It was incredible! I have yet to read The 5th Wave but it’s in the TBR mountain!

    Hope you enjoy all your awesome new reads!

    Here’s my STS

    Have a GREAT day!

    Old Follower 🙂

    September 1, 2013 at 8:04 am

  9. Great update and what a sweet haul! Happy Reading! The Sunday Edition @ Paulette’s Papers

    September 1, 2013 at 9:45 am

  10. Enjoy your books!

    September 2, 2013 at 12:00 pm

You want to leave a comment? Awesome! I read every one! ^.^

