Random Musings by Frodosco

15 Day Book Blogger Challenge: Day 14

15 Day Book Blogger Challenge: Day 14

15-Day-Challenge

The awesome people over at Good Books and Good Wine came up with the fabulous 15 Day Book Blogger Challenge!

Today’s Challenge is: Tell us your deal breakers.

For this challenge I’ll list a few deal breakers, first the positive then the negative, and try to shed some more light on why I buy the books I do!

The Good

  • Auto-buy Authors – This is something I will expand on in a future post but there are definitely authors I LOVE so much that if a book comes out by them it is instantly on my shelf (virtual or regular) because I MUST have it! It doesn’t matter if they change genres or even target age groups (MG/YA/Adult/etc.) I will love it! Some authors on this list: Ann Aguirre, Rick Riordan, Sarah-Jane Lehoux, Leigh Wilder, Zoe E. Whitten, Malcolm Gladwell & John Green.
  • Synopsis Seduction – If the summary on Goodreads/Amazon/etc. is so good that I literally HAVE to buy it. This has happened numerous times and I’m sure will continue to happen in the future. The genre of the book sometimes ceases to matter, it’s all about that beautiful tease that I can’t ignore. Recent examples of this: Insomnia by J. R. Johansson, Cruel Beauty by Rosamund Hodge (not yet released) and Fade to Black by Francis Knight.
  • Pretty Picture Passion – That’s right, I do succumb to book covers every so often. I can’t help it! I want to be able to put it on my shelf (after reading it of course) and call it one of my pretties. My bank account doesn’t thank me for these but some are too tempting to resist. Often the book at least interests me a bit as well, but it is the cover that makes me click that buy button. Very recent examples of this: Black City by Elizabeth Richards and Ink by Amanda Sun.

The Bad

  • Painfully Putrid Picture – Yup, I’m a cover snob as much as a cover lover. If your book sounds interesting but the cover makes me want to gag or burst into laughing fits (for all the wrong reasons) it isn’t winding up on my shelves. I have a few books where the covers aren’t amazing but for the most part I love all of my beautiful books and to taint that with bad, poorly done or bland covers would be a disgrace. Have you seen Katytastic’s recent quickie bookshelf tour? That’s what I want my shelves to be like and this means I may miss out on a great story or two, but there are plenty out there for me to read and this helps narrow down (a little) what I buy.
  • Infuriating Instalove – If you follow my blog you know my feelings on this. I do check out reviews for the books I buy on most occasions and if I catch wind of instalove and it doesn’t fall under my author auto-buy list it will take a TON of other positives to make me actually buy the book. In the vast majority of cases this is a deal breaker.
  • Cardboard Cutout – Oh the summary sounds really familiar, the preview (if there is one) makes it seem just like book x that I just read and the reviews say it’s JUST LIKE books x, y and z? Forget it. If the book doesn’t seem original or is far too similar to another book I’ve read or heard about then I’m probably not reading this let alone buying it. I love so many books and I don’t want to read carbon copies of them when there is so much original content out there to explore!

So what do you think of my deal breakers? Do you share any of them or are you the complete opposite? What are your deal breakers? Let me know, I’d love to check them out! ^.^ See you tomorrow for the last day of the challenge!

You want to leave a comment? Awesome! I read every one! ^.^

