Random Musings by Frodosco

15 Day Book Blogger Challenge: Day 12

15 Day Book Blogger Challenge: Day 12

15-Day-Challenge

The awesome people over at Good Books and Good Wine came up with the fabulous 15 Day Book Blogger Challenge!

Today’s Challenge is: How do you fight blogger fatigue?

Not particularly well is the honest answer here. In the short time my blog has been up (less than a year) I took a hiatus twice and they were both a bit lengthy, particularly my last one. I had legitimate reasons for taking them, but regardless I don’t do well when I’m crazy fatigued. However, on a day to day level there are a few tactics to keep blogging from becoming dull or tiresome, though they’re pretty obvious. Diversify.

  • Try a different post than you are used to: If you constantly post the same type all the time (say like me with reviews) you may get bored or lose interest with blogging. It’s repetitive and, especially in the case of reviews at least for me, time consuming and a lot of effort. So try a meme, write a random post about whatever or if you just have all the emotions post a couple gifs, tell your followers how much you love them and then collapse. No one will blame you.
  • Read a different genre: Another obvious tip but this is my main way to fight the reading/reviewing process from becoming stale. I try to change up the genre at least a bit every so often to avoid getting stuck in a rut. This of course goes out the window when I have deadlines or am so in love with a series that I MUST READ IT NOW (to avoid explosions of bookishness) but after the deadline books I move to a different genre or book I was really looking forward to.
  • Change up your format for whatever type of post you write. For me this again goes to reviews and I do try to change my format every so often. Usually it’s a breakdown of the book by major category with a summary at the end to explain my overall feelings. However, I sometimes do the Hobbit-Sized reviews which are usually lighter and a bit more fun rather than my analytical approach, or I’ll do it in some type of list format if it feels more appropriate (anthologies especially) and for me that works.

How do you avoid blogger fatigue? Are you very successful or does it still get to you sometimes? Do you never have any blogger fatigue due to how awesome it is to interact with the blogging/bookish community? Let me know! ^.^

One response

  1. Great tips, will definitely be trying these out because like you, I don’t do well with fatigue 😦

    Day 11 & 12 Book Blogger Challenge

    July 19, 2013 at 9:38 pm

You want to leave a comment? Awesome! I read every one! ^.^

