Random Musings by Frodosco

15 Day Book Blogger Challenge: Day 5

15 Day Book Blogger Challenge: Day 5

15-Day-Challenge

The awesome people over at Good Books and Good Wine came up with the fabulous 15 Day Book Blogger Challenge!

Today’s Challenge is: Recommend a tearjerker.

I’ll be honest, I don’t cry often, and that includes even while reading the saddest of books. This isn’t some attempt at seeming “macho”, I just don’t. However, that doesn’t mean I can’t think of a great book that might make some of you shed a few tears!

My choice for a fantastic tearjerker is John Green’s Looking for Alaska! 

While most Green fans would turn to The Fault in Our Stars as the classic tearjerker example, I felt Looking for Alaska had a bigger emotional blow to it. I connected with Alaska and Pudge far more than I did with Hazel or Augustus. While the sadness in TFiOS is more pronounced as a feeling throughout the book, Looking for Alaska delivers a punch to the gut, you can’t HELP but feel saddened by what happened, you probably won’t even see it coming.

I felt like the sadness in Looking for Alaska, because of the unexpected and forceful nature of it is more likely to get someone to shed a few tears, especially if they connected with the characters as much as I did, rather than a book with sadness throughout where you eventually could get used to those undertones. Looking for Alaska isn’t a sad book, but it sure can make you cry.

What is your favorite tearjerker? Is it a sad book as a whole or did something catch you off guard and make you cry just for that emotional moment? Thanks for reading!

15 responses

  1. I just read TFiOS and it was my first Green book, so I’ll definitely have to read this one too. I don’t know much about it though so I’ll have to look into it.

    July 12, 2013 at 1:30 am

    • All of John Green’s work is amazing (in my opinion anyway) so definitely check out Looking For Alaska! My personal favorite is actually An Abundance of Katherines, but I’m biased because I had a huge connection with the MC. 🙂

      July 12, 2013 at 1:24 pm

  2. I’ve got to get my hands on this book! I haven’t read any John Green books but I love that guy! And I think it’s about time that I read one of his books… Thanks for the recommendation! 🙂

    July 12, 2013 at 4:22 am

  3. Indeed my choice is TFiOS, I have this one, but I haven’t read it yet. It might be that Mr. Green’s writing always brings strong feelings to his readers. Great pick 🙂

    Reading with ABC

    July 12, 2013 at 5:00 am

  4. I haven’t read Looknig for Alaska yet. I’ve heard it’s very emotional, though, which might be why I’ve been putting it off.

    July 12, 2013 at 9:03 am

  5. berenicemendez293344352

    so… then if you don’t like to cry you should be weary of all John Green books??

    July 12, 2013 at 11:06 am

    • Negative. An Abundance of Katherines is just hilarious and full of nerdy awesome. Also, Will Grayson, Will Grayson by Green and Levithan is quite uplifting. 🙂

      July 12, 2013 at 1:26 pm

  6. This one’s on my TBR. I haven’t read many John Green books yet.

    July 12, 2013 at 11:25 am

  7. I’m starting to believe you love your first John Green. I read Will Grayson, Will Grayson first and loved it, TFiOS second and practically died crying (and I loved it), and got to Looking for Alaska and was sort of underwhelmed–it just didn’t do it for me (maybe I should have written about THAT yesterday!). And, this book is HUGE to almost everyone in YA. It didn’t pack the punch for me. I *can* see why others love it and like how you say it packed more of an emotional blow. 🙂

    July 12, 2013 at 12:47 pm

    • Oh I am a nerdfighter through and through so of course Green’s books are fantastic for me, though An Abundance of Katherines is actually my favorite. 🙂

      July 12, 2013 at 1:26 pm

    • I totally agree with this comment. I think you do tend to love your first one most (unless you love Katherines, because it’s so different that you will probably love it no matter when you read it!).

      July 12, 2013 at 3:23 pm

  8. Agreed – this one was a gut punch. And a gut punch that snuck up on you. Not cool, Green, not cool.

    July 12, 2013 at 3:22 pm

  9. It seems John Green’s books are quite popular in the tear jerker club.

    Day 5 Challenge Post

    July 12, 2013 at 3:55 pm

  10. Another John Green post! Everyone seems to have read his books but me!

    -Nichole
    http://www.yareads.com

    July 12, 2013 at 4:42 pm

  11. I have this book on my TBR shelf, but I think I need to be in the right mood to read this one. Great choice!

    July 13, 2013 at 1:54 pm

You want to leave a comment? Awesome! I read every one! ^.^

