Random Musings by Frodosco

15 Day Book Blogger Challenge: Day 1

15 Day Book Blogger Challenge: Day 1

15-Day-Challenge

The awesome people over at Good Books and Good Wine came up with the fabulous 15 Day Book Blogger Challenge!

I will be posting the first two today to catch up with the crowd so here is the first challenge!

Make 15 Book Related Confessions

  1. I almost never read BIG books anymore. Since unlike some of the amazing bloggers out there I do not have a bunch of posts scheduled in advance, almost every time you see me post a review I have just finished that book that day. So attempting a huge book in one day, while doable, is a bit too intimidating for most days, especially if I work the next morning. I miss you big books!
  2. I am becoming a book hoarder. Though I’ve seen some people having lists as high as 2,000 unread books and I can’t (thankfully) claim that, my TBR is still getting pretty high…and I keep buying more. My print TBR is somewhat manageable at a bit over 100, but the eBooks? That’s around 500 or so by itself. *hides* o_o
  3. Since I became a book blogger I’ve never re-read a book. There is simply no time!
  4. This is one I’ve seen a few times, but I have secondbookitus. Books like Insurgent, Outpost, Fiery Edge of Steel and plenty more sit unread for no particular reason except that I’m a bit afraid they won’t be quite as amazing as the first. I believe I gave all three of their predecessors five star ratings, that’s a lot to live up to! I swear I will continue those series…eventually.
  5. I don’t read classics except when they were assigned for school. I’m not going to make a list but think anything akin to a Jane Austen level book in the literary community and assume I haven’t read it. No real reason except that there are SO MANY new pretties to read!
  6. My books don’t match. My series tend to blend between paperback and hardcover for no good reason whatsoever. OCD people stay away from my bookshelves, just trust me, I’m doing you a favor.
  7. I’m cheap when it comes to most of my book purchases. Bargain books? Check. Paperback over the hardcover because it is cheaper despite the previous books in the series being the other? You bet ya. I want ALL OF THE BOOKS so whatever there is a cheaper price tag on is what I’ll grab, even used copies.
  8. I’m another one of those that will never write in a book. My books are not pristine necessarily, but write on them and I will turn into the Hulk, not recommended.
  9. I’ve likely read over 1,000 books in my lifetime. Not a lot but nothing to sneeze at. I read all the time as a kid and quite a bit as a teenager and with the book blogging I’ve rekindled that love for books and read all the time to try and keep posts going (along with the enjoyment of reading itself). So far 105 this year as of this post, not bad right?!
  10. I do have books on my shelves that I’ve owned for more than a couple years I still have yet to read. Remember all those new pretties? Ya…I really should get to some of the older ones…
  11. My most reread book was published in the year I was born, 1992, and I’ve owned it since I was around 5 or 6. It’s Alfred Slote’s The Trading Game, a kids book about baseball cards mostly, and it started one of my major collections which is now over 5,000 trading cards of various types. I’ve probably read it somewhere along the lines of 20-25 times, even relatively recently (last year around September). I’ll probably read it again sometime if I find spare time. (HAHAHA)
  12. If I love an author, and I mean LOVE, I tend to buy all their work, like, all of it. Ann Aguirre? Her books alone added ~14 books to my TBR. Rick Riordan? Nine of his on my shelf waiting to be read. Sean Beaudoin and Jeremy C. Shipp are among a few others whose collections fill my shelves (both physical and virtual), I can’t help myself.
  13. I have a really hard time saying no to indie authors, especially ones kind and generous enough to speak with me regularly on Twitter. So I end up with a solid amount of review books that I NEED to read by certain deadlines. Luckily a lot of them are great pieces I wouldn’t have found otherwise, huzzah!
  14. Quotes and lines from books I’ve loved are slowly taking up a wall in sticky note form. I tend to look at them when I’m stuck on a review or on the rare occasion I’m working on my own pieces. Great inspiration.
  15. I refuse to dog ear pages. I have a ton of bookmarks from giveaways that I’ll use though if I really am into a book I won’t even pause long enough to need one. Some of my books have some damage to them, but I will never inflict it on purpose, they’re my pretties after all!

Well hopefully that list had some interesting tidbits in it! Thanks as always for reading and the next post will be up shortly!

You want to leave a comment? Awesome! I read every one! ^.^

