Random Musings by Frodosco

The End of the Challenge

The End of the 365 in 365 Challenge

I realize that this is being posted on day that is least conducive to believability but I assure you I’m not messing around. A bit before the beginning of the year I wondered what direction I wanted to take my blog in and I decided that a good route was to make this challenge, a book a day and reviewing each on the day I read them. This would give me exposure to new genres (another challenge I placed upon myself that I have essentially completed at this point anyway) and give an extra excuse to read more. Doing a review every day was designed to help both find a style and improve the quality of my writing, mostly of reviews but in general as well. The challenge would hopefully generate some extra interest in the blog which had seen a vast decrease in hits mostly because the ones I was getting were purely meme-related and though I enjoyed reading the comments for those they didn’t feel like I had done anything to earn them.

Now for what actually happened. When I began this challenge I was working roughly 20hrs/week at my crappy job. I’m now at 40/week or even a bit more at times which has made it much more difficult to plan reading and reviewing into my day, especially if I want to do anything but those things. In the beginning month and a half or so I was reading full length books, doing what I still believe were pretty solid reviews and improving my writing for those as well as enjoying some great new reads, it was a lot of fun. Now? I’m exhausted all the time. I get up at 3:30am for work, work for 8hrs, come home and try to read a book and review but am usually distracted by a multitude of things. I forgot how diverse my passions were until I didn’t have time to squeeze them all in.

As I moved into March I was running lower on time and energy and as a result I was reading a novella length book almost every other day which I wasn’t happy with, even if I enjoyed some of them. Worse still and something I refuse to allow myself to continue to do any longer, the quality of my reviews was decreasing as time went on. Some of them made me cringe since I was just cobbling together some general feelings just so a review would go up. I can’t do that, it isn’t my style and I would much rather a quality product than mass amounts of it.

So what does this mean for the blog? No, I’m not quitting blogging, I enjoy it too much and I love the community I’ve come to know so well. I also have quite a few obligations that I need to fulfill and I would never shirk those, not that I want to. It means I’ll go back to closer to my previous schedule that I had prior to the challenge. A review or two a week with a possibility of a third, Waiting on Wednesday weekly and I’ll be doing Stacking the Shelves once a month (look for March’s recap Saturday, yes a week late I know). I also have a few fun posts lined up including a guest post with an author, a couple reviews that I am looking forward to that will coincide with book releases, a cover reveal and likely a giveaway or two. Most of that is coming this month so I’m pretty excited for April. ^.^

I know there were people really excited and hopeful to see me complete this challenge as it is/was pretty crazy. I still will read more books this year than probably any other in my life, though some of my elementary years might give it a run for its money. One reason for stopping this admittedly is the lack of response I had for it. To kill myself by trying to keep up with this challenge and try to produce high quality stuff and see it widely ignored, while I wasn’t shocked it did kinda kill my morale. By going back to my usual blogging schedule I will be doing it for the love of books and the community I am a small part of, so whether I get a large audience or not I can still enjoy myself which is a big deal at least for me.

Positive spin! This will give me time to work on my writing (the book kind not the review/blogging kind) and potentially try other cool stuff. Examples: This month has both Camp NaNoWriMo & VEDA (Vlog Every Day in April) and while I don’t think I’ll try the latter this year, it is those type of things that releasing myself from the challenge commitment will allow. I can’t wait!

I hope this doesn’t give me a giant red stamp of “quitter” on my head, but I guess I understand if that is the case. If this lessens your view of me, the blog, or results in you not stopping by that’s cool, I understand. The challenge could be viewed as a gimmick, and though to me that wasn’t the intent, now that it’s over the small allure does disappear. However, if you do continue to stop by once in a while I do appreciate it and hope that the quality improvement outweighs the decrease in amount of posts. I will try to keep it interesting and entertaining to the best of my ability. If you’ve read this whole thing I commend you and thank you. Thanks as always for reading.

4 responses

  1. As I said on Twitter, I wouldn’t have made it to day 10, let alone 91. I try to post two or three times a week on my own blog, but I often don’t get that far. Of course, Twitter has absorbed the “short form/link to something” kind of posts that I used to do on occasion…

    Of course, now I can try to suck you into doing #FridayFlash (and maybe #TuesdaySerial) with the rest of us lunatics… 😀

    April 1, 2013 at 10:07 pm

  2. I was amazed you were even going to attempt to read a book a day for the entire year. As someone who works full time herself, it was something I absolutely couldn’t fathom. I know that there are definite days where I come home from work (I’m a teacher) and just want to sleep! I definitely don’t do as much reading during the week as I do on the weekends, when I try to catch up with my review schedule.

    Anyway, all that is to say I totally understand not being able to keep up with the demands of reading a book a day! I shall continue to follow your blog and see what reviews you do post. 🙂

    April 1, 2013 at 11:18 pm

  3. Don’t feel bad about it! It was amazing that you managed to do the challenge for so long…I would have passed out from the effort in the first week more than likely and I don’t have a job. So I’d say that even though you didn’t finish the challenge you really knocked it out of the park.

    I hope you get the rest you need and deserve. 🙂

    April 12, 2013 at 2:34 am

  4. You write a very entertaining blog. I’ve enjoyed it so far and look forward to more posts in the future. And two or three reviews a week is still pretty ambitious.

    April 17, 2013 at 9:13 pm

You want to leave a comment? Awesome! I read every one! ^.^

