Random Musings by Frodosco

Day 38: Let’s Pretend This Never Happened by Jenny Lawson

Day 38

Summary From Goodreads:  

For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris—Internet star Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, makes her literary debut.

Jenny Lawson realized that the most mortifying moments of our lives—the ones we’d like to pretend never happened—are in fact the ones that define us. In the #1 New York Times bestseller,Let’s Pretend This Never Happened, Lawson takes readers on a hilarious journey recalling her bizarre upbringing in rural Texas, her devastatingly awkward high school years, and her relationship with her long-suffering husband, Victor. Chapters include: “Stanley the Magical, Talking Squirrel”; “A Series of Angry Post-It Notes to My Husband”; “My Vagina Is Fine. Thanks for Asking”; “And Then I Snuck a Dead Cuban Alligator on an Airplane.” Pictures with captions (no one would believe these things without proof) accompany the text.

———————————————————————————————————————————–

One of the funniest books I’ve ever read.

Really I could leave you with that one line and it would sum up Let’s Pretend This Never Happened and my feelings for it all short and sweet, but that wouldn’t be much of a review. Then again, I’ve never attempted to write a review of an autobiography before so this may not be much of a review regardless. Maybe you should just go with that first line. No? Oh well…

Lawson had me laughing, snorting and overall looking like a maniac from the first chapter. That chapter wasn’t even really a chapter (if you go by her editor’s opinion anyway) but I knew I was going to love the book right away. The stories of Lawson’s childhood are both hilarious and a tad frightening in that any child could actually grow up in that environment. I think people know that some kids do grow up in these kinds of families and rural settings, but rarely do we go this in depth to learn about what it would be like so this is a rare insight. However, Lawson’s father throws a comical/crazy wrench into things that gives it a unique (and wacky) twist on the stereotypical rural/simple lifestyle.

The book continues and follows Lawson’s life as a teen and later an adult. It covers marriage and children and everything between. Bobcats thrown at you? You got it! Want to know what is really inside a diaper? Look no further! Don’t get me started on cows…

Seriously though, Let’s Pretend This Never Happened is fantastic and everything I hoped it would be and more. I had my choice of any book (I won a giveaway, shocker I know) and this book was the perfect pick, so glad I did. I’d recommend this to anyone, especially those like me who appreciate a…slightly twisted sense of humor. Also, another person who had anxiety issues turned writer, huzzah! Gives me hope. ^.^ As always thanks for reading and come back tomorrow for Day 39!

Genre Reading Challenge #18/30 – Category – Autobiography; Mount TBR Challenge #31/150+; 2013 TBR Pile #31/50; Goodreads 2013 Reading Challenge #38/365

Four Smiling Frodos w Background

Advertisements

You want to leave a comment? Awesome! I read every one! ^.^

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s