Random Musings by Frodosco

2013 Reading Challenges!

2013 Reading Challenges

Hey look, a widget under the 2013 challenge area on the right side of my blog! What is this? 365 BOOKS?! What crazy person put that there? Oh well, I guess I’ll fulfill it since it is already made! ^.^

Seriously though, the plan for 2013 is to do a book a day, or at least 7/week so I can read around my work schedule. I mentioned this possibility here so check that out to find out more ramblingness. Anyway, I will be using some challenges hosted by some other lovely blogs in order to keep me motivated, because what better motivator is there than the possibility of looking like a moron in front of your bookish peers? Am I right? Anyone? Oh well…without further ado, here are the awesome challenges I am participating in (and you should be too):

2013 TBR Pile Reading Challenge/Mount TBR Reading Challenge 2013

Mount TBR Reading Challenge 2013

I’m combining these since there are no parameters with these two challenges and they are essentially the same things. The only real “rule” is that the books have to be from before 2013, no new releases during this year since it is your “TBR pile” that you are trying to work on. I will be doing the highest levels for both of these challenges which are “Married With Children” (41-50) for 2013 TBR Pile Reading Challenge hosted by Evie @ Bookish & “Mount Olympus (Mars)” (150+) for Mount TBR Reading Challenge 2013 hosted by Bev @ My Reader’s Block. These are pretty crazy goals but considering my personal goal is 365 books (again check out my previous post for my parameters if interested), I think this will give me a good mix of older books to go with any 2013 releases I’ll get this year. If you want to join any of these challenges click on the pictures or the hyperlinks provided. 🙂

2013 Genre Variety Reading Challenge

Genre Variety Reading Challenge

This challenge is hosted by the amazing Faye @ A Daydreamer’s Thoughts and to find out more about this you can click here or on the picture for more info and to sign up, but I’ll give a small description. The challenge is to “read books from different genres throughout the year” and the goal is to expand, or even eliminate, any boundaries you have on what you read. I’m not one to limit myself to certain genres but I do want to expand my range a bit and try out some that I normally would avoid or at least not actively attempt to read. The list of some genres you could choose from is provided over there, so I won’t list them, but I will update what genres I personally have read as I go along. The highest level for this challenge is “Champion” (30 different genres, 30 different books) so that is what I will aim for. ^.^

Monthly Key Word Reading Challenge 2013

Monthly Keyword Reading Challenge

To sign up and check out all of the key words for each month you can click here or the image above. This challenge is hosted by Kimberly @ Bookmark to Blog and is a helpful (and fun!) way to give a little spin on what you will read each month. You can choose a single book with a keyword for the month, or as many as you’d like, as long as you do at least one! I don’t have a specific goal for this one (outside of obviously doing the minimum 12 books, one per month) but I think it’ll be fun all the same! 🙂

2013 Seriously Series Reading Challenge

Seriously Series Reading Challenge

This challenge, hosted by Kelly @ Paranormal Book Reviews, might be the most difficult for me to do a large amount of because I actually don’t own that many series. You can check it out here or click the picture above. Luckily for me this challenge allows for books released in 2013, so I have ample time to stock up/complete my series collections. ^.^ I figure that by the end (or close to it) of 2013 I’ll have enough series to achieve the highest level of this challenge which is “Seriously Spectacular Series Star” (18+). They will be a mix of series started before and after 2013 and some of the series will have been completed (as in written) before 2013, and some after, or not completed at all.

I can’t wait to get started on these challenges in earnest! Of course I have already started on my first book of the new year and there will be a post on it (of some sort) when I have completed it. Let me know if you are participating in any of these challenges already or what other ones you are doing (and maybe I’ll even sign up for those too!) and I’ll check them out. 🙂 Good luck with whatever you are up to in 2013!

3 responses

  1. Welcome to Mount TBR! Be sure and send us pictures from Mars! If I make it up Everest, I may join you on Mt. Olympus.

    January 2, 2013 at 7:10 am

    • Do you happen to have a Twitter? I tried finding you but was unable. =/

      February 10, 2013 at 6:23 pm

  2. holy cow cupcake..i admire your goals..i read 250 books last year and work part-time..and have no idea how you will do this..but eek gads am i cheering you on! Sorry I have neglected your blog, for some reason you are not showing up in my feed, and i sadly assumed the new job was keeping you away from blogging and then the holidays and guests and my daughters graduation swept in an bam..i am a bad follower!

    January 4, 2013 at 2:03 pm

You want to leave a comment? Awesome! I read every one! ^.^

