Random Musings by Frodosco

Random Post: In Which I Ramble and Have Too Many Ideas

In Which I Ramble and Have Too Many Ideas

Yes I am posting again which happens to coincide with the date that was set for the return of my blogging ways. However, this does not mean that I am indeed going to continue my plan to go back to blogging on a regular basis. Don’t worry, I will explain why. Over the last few days, as my impending return date has been getting ever closer to the present, I have been considering why it is that I want to blog anymore. What is the purpose? Many of my book blogging acquaintances, I hesitate to call them friends since I don’t know how close we are, virtually or no, do it simply because they love books and want to share their passion with viewers. I respect and admire that desire, and while I to absolutely do have a fondness for many works whether it is the lengthy works of John Grisham or Stephen King, all the way to the eBook short stories of the amazing Jeremy C. Shipp and his Attic Clowns, I don’t know that I have the same desire to voice my opinions on them. Who wants to listen to me babble about these pieces when there are so many others who do it more eloquently or who already have established followings in which to voice their viewpoints? Certainly mine might differ, but when it comes to the majority of the books I have or would review it is something that has already been talked about at length on multiple platforms by people much better at this than I am, and some invariably would have shared the same general opinion as I have or would do in the future.

Do I share my thoughts to viewers because I want to share books that aren’t mainstream and so to help lesser-known authors get the word out about their pieces? I have done so at times, but I never planned on limiting myself to that area and I don’t think I really want to, though I do enjoy helping out debut authors since they do seem to appreciate it, even though I don’t really have the following to help all that much.

So if my opinions aren’t new, and I’m not truly helping anyone by expressing them, what do I achieve by writing them at all? There are more selfish reasons, I wanted to continue bettering myself as a writer. I haven’t had any classes on it, and to be honest my high school education when it comes to writing even pales in comparison to the average person, let alone those who dare to call themselves “writers” or anything of the sort, hence my atrocious punctuation. I think I have improved slightly, but I don’t necessarily need to bombard potential viewers with my drivel in order to continue to write, I can do so without sharing it if improvement was my only goal. So again, I have yet to find a reason to blog.

You may notice how my background mentions fantasy sports, it is now only there for the color, I like how it meshes with the current theme and that’s the only reason it is still there, outside of laziness. However, my previous blogging attempts have been on sports, which is where a lot of my passion lies. I quickly discovered that there was no audience for what I was writing, which was even worse quality wise at the time, and the niche I was trying to get into was so saturated as to be ridiculous, so eventually I gave it up. I’m glad I did, it wasn’t really worth the effort to be honest.

During my thinking process I have also considered vlogging instead, or in addition to my blogging efforts. I figured a small trickle effect would come from my blog/twitter followers, so it wouldn’t be completely without audience, and that perhaps that would be a better medium. However, though I have been on camera in front of people before, and I even know how to edit (though audio mostly, foraying into video would be new for me), I don’t really have anything new to share there either. I could do a daily vlog and be one of those types who try and vlog that way for an entire month or year, but I don’t know that I have any message to convey or any worthwhile opinions to share to anyone anyhow.

You see my life experiences are incredibly limited. The condensed version of my life path has went as follows:

Smart kid but nowhere near “genius” > Does well getting As in grade school > Goes to college at 17 and WAY overburdens himself with max credit load + 2 jobs (when never having worked before or taken classes at that difficulty level) > Bombs out of College 1 after 1 year > Tries an online school which goes well for the first semester but there aren’t enough classes available so quits afterward > Joins the Air Force > Gets injured so is forced to leave > Tries another online college but gives up quickly due to lack of direction > Tries working but doesn’t work out (anxiety) > Tries an online radio show which goes well until the realization that the main host doesn’t know what they’re doing/refuses to take criticism > Goes back home and job searches > Currently Working at a basic job.

Not as condensed as I planned…but you get the gist, I haven’t done much, I’ve given up on most of it, and I haven’t really succeeded in learning or gaining much of anything in the process. I know how to edit audio fairly well, I’m relatively bright though I haven’t applied it in anything and because of bombing out/quitting college so many times that avenue has closed (also can’t afford it), and I really like sports and have a fondness for books. That’s pretty much it. I know, I know, I’m bombarding you with a ton of crap, bear with me I think I’m almost done.

So I don’t know that I really want to blog about books, I love reading them, and I’m all for trying and helping new authors, but I think there are plenty of people who do it better and more effectively. I love sports but that field has no room, seriously. I don’t have any skills to share and I’m not like the Vlogbrothers (geniuses by the way) who have someone else to bounce off of creatively. I enjoy writing and I loved participating in NaNoWriMo, but I think that might even be more about the social interaction than because I truly love the craft, plus I need to work on it before I’d even consider sharing any of it anyhow. What seems to be the case is that I enjoy surveying other people’s awesome. I don’t think there is anything wrong with that, but I shouldn’t leech off of their creative juices and try to replicate a slightly varied version of their amazing product, it isn’t fair to them and it isn’t really worth it to anyone who would view it. I’m more than happy to give my viewpoint on something if someone asks me, but that doesn’t mean I should be so presumptuous as to assume that anyone wants it if they haven’t requested it beforehand. I’m not doing anything interesting enough to share, I’m just going through the motions of life and until that changes maybe I should keep it to myself. That doesn’t mean I won’t continue reading my favorite blogs, watching awesome YouTube videos, or talking to the awesome people on Twitter, but maybe that’s all I should do, at least for now.

If you’ve made it to the end of this drivel I commend you, though I must say I’m surprised. I know a handful of people that I can think of who may actually have read all of this and to those people you are amazing, but you probably should find better ways to spend your time than my blog, just saying. 😛 If you have ever commented on any of my posts, if you have even thought about it but decided not to, or for some reason you actually have enjoyed any of my previous content (and didn’t just see it because I put a link up on your meme post) then please, feel more than free to let me know your thoughts on all this. I’m more than happy to read them. Thanks. This is Frodo, at least for now, signing off.

**Addition: I just wanted to summarize something here that maybe I wasn’t clear on. If I’m not honing a craft I think I can use in the future (such as vloggers who plan to make video their career or bloggers who use it as a writing tool as they work towards making writing theirs) and I’m also not really sharing anything new to viewers then maybe there isn’t any point to it.

One response

  1. I think that blogging can be done for a lot of different reasons. Both to share our love for books, to be better at writing (whatever it is we write, anyway) and maybe, to you, it would be a good idea to continue, just to prove to yourself that you are able to see something through?

    But it really has to be your decision. I don’t think it’s really important if other bloggers / reviewers have already reviewed the same books that you have, the fact that people come to your blog to see what you think about books means that you do have an audience.

    I’m quite new at blogging myself, and I don’t exactly try too hard to get a huge following – I participate in the Follow Friday meme, but I don’t have any schedule when it comes to my blog. I post a review when I feel like it – some weeks maybe three reviews, other weeks there might be none. This is just a hobby to me, and I don’t want to feel any kind of obligation about it.

    Sorry to be so long winded – I hope you’ll be able to make up your mind, and be satisfied with your decision!

    December 7, 2012 at 11:46 am

You want to leave a comment? Awesome! I read every one! ^.^

