Random Musings by Frodosco

Hiatus

Hiatus

I’m sure this will come as no surprise to the few of you who follow my blog regularly. I’ve only posted one review in the last two weeks and that one wasn’t even planned. If you read my last NaNoWriMo update then you know that I got a job. This is my first “regular” job that I’ve had, and by regular I mean 8 hour shifts, on my feet, dealing with people, that sort of thing. I’ve had a few jobs in the past but none of them fall in those categories. Anyway, the majority of my shifts are 4:30AM – 12:30PM which has resulted in me having to change my sleeping schedule as well as my regular one. (I know I’m babbling, bear with me) Until I can get (relatively) used to the hours and can hopefully stop being exhausted all the time I can’t do blogging at a level that is acceptable to my standards.

I don’t want this blog to turn into a meme-only type of thing, I WANT to do reviews, I just don’t have time. One of my favorite bloggers as well as one of the most loyal readers & commenters of my blog recently did a post (check it out here) about how she posts daily. I knew that many of the bookish bloggers had reviews scheduled, and just a posting schedule in general, but I thought that if I worked at it I could get ahead without doing so. For a while I was right, but then NaNoWriMo consumed two weeks of my time which turned out to be my last two pre-working weeks. I don’t regret doing NaNoWriMo at all, I really enjoyed writing and interacting with other NaNos, but I haven’t read a book since freaking October! I have stacks of books that I’ve won or bought that I haven’t touched and I really want to get to, let alone getting reviews done for them.

So, here’s the plan. I’m going to go on hiatus until December 8th. That gives me exactly three weeks to hopefully adjust to my new working life, read some of the amazing books that I’ve neglected and to get my blogging schedule in order. I will completely understand if you choose to unfollow me or whatever, I don’t blame you. However, when I do come back I will be putting in just as much effort (if not more) as I did before and I hope that those of you who do stay will be happy to see me return. I have a small following but I will miss all of your lovely comments and getting to talk with you on a regular basis. I appreciate the support you’ve given thus far and I can’t wait to come back! I will still visit those of you that I have been following regularly, but the comments will be fewer. See you in December!

5 responses

  1. Congrats on the new job! Hopefully, you’ll get used to the new sleeping schedule. I’m sure all your followers understand and will be here when you get back. 🙂

    November 17, 2012 at 1:05 pm

  2. Excellent plan cupcake..this blog should bring you joy, not stress, and it only takes one stressful week or month to set you back. I hope the job is what you wanted and that you find satisfaction with it once you adjust to that crazy schedule. I am totally confident you will find away to balance life and your love of books. Hugs ❤

    November 19, 2012 at 10:01 pm

  3. See you in December 🙂

    November 21, 2012 at 8:28 am

  4. Hope you have an awesome hiatus! Make sure to write an AWESOME NaNoWriMo project for me! Since, you know, when I tried it the best sentence in there was pretty much “The dress was pink.” No joke. And wow! 4:30 to noon? DUDE I would seriously just pass out at 6 every day I am NOT fun to deal with with less than 8 hours of sleep.

    See you in December! Sorry I haven’t been stopping by recently. Blame school and my dad, who thinks SAT prep three months before I actually take the SATs is a good idea, AND when my SAT scores don’t even count. *cough* Not in high school yet *cough*

    But have fun on your hiatus I hope you get everything sorted soon! 🙂

    November 24, 2012 at 4:27 pm

  5. Hope the hiatus does you good. I know taking November off to do Nano really helped me and I feel full of energy to get back out and blog and visit. 🙂 Hope you are doing well, and congrats again on winning Nano. Was great to have you around. 🙂

    December 3, 2012 at 8:05 pm

You want to leave a comment? Awesome! I read every one! ^.^

