Random Musings by Frodosco

NaNoWriMo: Day 7

NaNoWriMo Day 7

Today was not a failure. That is what I have to keep telling myself when I see that 0 for how much I wrote. There will be days like this and I not only have the cushion to easily withstand it, but I actually needed this particular one. I have pretty much finished my first piece as I mentioned yesterday and so I’m down to my new second one. The problem was that I hadn’t planned on doing a second piece so I was still making it up as I was going along. I wasn’t having a good day to begin with for reasons I won’t get into and I didn’t have enough direction for my second piece and I was feeling a disconnect from it. I didn’t feel any urge or desire to write it, I didn’t have a why.

Since I haven’t ever provided a visual of what my place looks like let me inform you that I have stacks of books surrounding me. My general place of being, as far as inside my house goes, is on my bed. It is obviously nice and comfy and big enough so that I have some work space too. Next to it is a dresser of which I primarily use the top of it and also some wire cage type shelving. My bed is also next to a window with a rather large sill so there is space there as well. That means that currently I have not one, not two, but three small stacks of books within reach, a fourth not much farther off and then on the other side of my room all of the rest in various shelving or lack there of. Almost all of the new books I get hang around near my bed in case I feel the desire/find the time to read one.

Now that you have that visual in place I can move on. So I was trying to find some inspiration for my second piece, or even possibly come up with a different idea and decided maybe just picking up some of these unread books and reading a small bit from each might inspire me. I read about ten pages or so of six or seven books and I don’t know if it was that or just the time my brain had to contemplate, but I finally came up with the inspiration I needed. I worked on outlining a bit and though it isn’t completely structured I have a much better idea of everything and a gist of how I want it to go. I figured out more about my main characters, how they connect to each other, what obstacles they need to overcome and their purposes. I also hashed out more of the setting in my mind and what the bad guy might be working on that they would need to stop. I know, that sounds like a lot, and it was which is why I’m not THAT upset by my lack of writing for the novel, I made progress, it just doesn’t show up on the word count. I really hope that tomorrow I can make up for that lost day and get back to my normal routine. We shall see!

How is your NaNoWriMo going so far? Are you still having fun and enjoying writing? Have you been participating in any word wars, sprints, 1k1hrs or hangouts yet? Let me know in the comments if you’d like! Good luck! Thanks for being so supportive as well, I really appreciate it.

Pages Written Today: 0

Words Written Today: 0

Approximate Hours Spent Writing Today: 0

Words/hr Today: 0

Total Pages Written: 42.25

Total Words Written: 35,406

Snacks Eaten/Drank Today: None

You want to leave a comment? Awesome! I read every one! ^.^

