Random Musings by Frodosco

NaNoWriMo: Day 5

NaNoWriMo Day 5

I did not set any goals for Day 5 which I suppose turned out to be a good thing. However, I have decided that my personal goal will be 2,500 words rather than the NaNoWriMo standard of 1,667 per day. I don’t know if it is because the number is just so nice and round or if it is just a benchmark I prefer to get but that’ll be the one I work with. It will also keep me ahead of that NaNoWriMo daily mark which is helpful just in case I have days where I can’t write, perish the thought.

I only wrote in my initial piece for today. I just had a few things I had come up with for it that I wanted/needed to get out and so for the limited amount of time I did write that is what I chose to focus on. I actually had to do some research for the bit I did today which was interesting as well as time consuming. I enjoyed adding some scientific studies into my main piece because it was a passion for me for so long, especially in high school, and I had missed reading articles on various new understandings. I am very, very close to finishing the first piece though so I’ll be forced to work on the second one, not that I mind terribly. The piece looks like it will end somewhere between 35,000 and 40,000 words, or about 40-42 pages single spaced in Times New Roman 12pt font if you prefer a visual. I’m satisfied with how it went and though it is somewhat unfortunate that the initial piece will almost certainly fall far short of being enough for the 50,000 goal by itself I do not want to stretch it just for that very purpose.

Outside of the daily goal of 2,500 I don’t have any plans writing wise for tomorrow. Tomorrow is election day for those of us in the United States so I will be paying close attention to, and voting in, it for the majority of the day, hopefully it won’t prevent me from getting my daily goal in, I don’t think it will.

How is your NaNoWriMo going so far? Are you having fun? Have you been participating in any word wars, sprints, 1k1hrs or hangouts and if not what is holding you back? I find them extremely fun and helpful to motivate me. Let me know in the comments if you’d like! Good luck!

Pages Written Today: 3.5

Words Written Today: 2,784

Approximate Hours Spent Writing Today: 1.60

Words/hr Today: 1,740

Total Pages Written: 40.25

Total Words Written: 33,723

Snacks Eaten/Drank Today: Dr. Pepper (1 can), Monster Energy Drink (2 16oz cans), Pretzels (undetermined quantity)

You want to leave a comment? Awesome! I read every one! ^.^

