Random Musings by Frodosco

NaNoWriMo: Day 4

NaNoWriMo Day 4

You know what they say about the best laid plans? Well that expression really has applied to my writing lately. I had said that my “day off” was Day 3 when I only wrote 3,425 words and that I planned to write a minimum of 5,000 words for Day 4. Try about half that. This time I don’t even have a good book as an excuse, to be truthful I don’t have any excuses. I didn’t really do anything meaningful during all of that time that I could have been writing and yet here I am having barely moved forward. Part of this is because during Day 1 & Day 2 I wrote almost all of the easier part of the novel. The first 25,000 words or so came easily and practically poured out of me like a dam that couldn’t hold back the water any longer. In contrast the last almost 6,000 words have been like pulling teeth. I am at the point in my novel where it is more about reflection and the actual attempt to solve the issues that were brought up, definitely harder then laying out the groundwork of the problems themselves. Also, this novella, I’m calling it that since even 50,000 words is considered a novella not a full fledged novel, is reaching the end. I don’t know that it is going to make it to 50,000, it looks like it will be much closer to about 40,000.

This meant that in order to “win” this NaNoWriMo I would need to do *gasp* a second piece. Well I hadn’t thought even a little bit about doing that before the last day or so which meant I had nothing prepared. One might think I would have a well of ideas, or at least a few pages of them in a notebook or word document somewhere, one would be wrong. I could only come up with the smallest of parts of ideas, nothing that I could turn into even a novella of decent length.

I guess today wasn’t a total loss because I used it to do some contemplating to come up with an idea. I did finally come up with one that I will be running with. It isn’t fully formed by any means, still just a baby idea, but it is workable. This will also keep my creative juices flowing because I will be able to work on two different pieces. I can work on whichever my mind feels like moving forward and hopefully I won’t have to push so hard just to write a couple thousand words like I did today. The second piece is going to be much harder for me because, unlike the first one, it is going to be much more in depth and involve a lot more characters. The first piece really only focuses on the main character and how they perceive the world in relation to them, the second won’t be anything of the sort which is something that freaks me out and excites me at the same time. The second one will also require a lot more world building so hopefully I’m up to the challenge. It will likely drastically lower my speed levels but that’s alright since I’ve built up plenty of cushion. The even more awesome part, or at least I would imagine it would be for anyone reading this, is that unlike the first piece I may actually be willing to share the second one with people! Crazy I know. You’ll have to wait and see. ^.^

How is your NaNoWriMo going so far? Are you having fun? Have you been participating in any word wars, sprints, 1k1hrs or hangouts and if not what is holding you back? I find them extremely fun and helpful to motivate me. Let me know in the comments if you’d like! Good luck!

Pages Written Today: 3

Words Written Today: 2,514

Approximate Hours Spent Writing Today: 1.75

Words/hr Today: 1,437

Total Pages Written: 36.75

Total Words Written: 30,939

Snacks Eaten/Drank Today: Dr. Pepper (1 can), Monster Energy Drink (1.5 16oz cans), Pretzels (undetermined quantity), Chocolate Muffin (1)

One response

  1. I think that’s the one problem with NaNoWriMo: the idea of writing so much for so many days in a row is awesome, but after a few days, even if you’ve carefully planned what you’re going to write and everything, the human brain just tends to stall. Keep going! I’m sure you’ll figure it out! 😀

    November 5, 2012 at 10:14 am

You want to leave a comment? Awesome! I read every one! ^.^

