Random Musings by Frodosco

NaNoWriMo!

NaNoWriMo

This is my first time participating in the awesomeness that is National Novel Writing Month or NaNoWriMo and I’m really excited for it! As the picture above says the goal of NaNoWriMo, outside of just writing as much as you can to create a novel, is to write 50,000+ words in the 30 days in the month of November. You don’t have to write that much but if you do hit 50,000 in the 30 days then you “win”. That averages out to at least 1,667 words per day which for some sounds like a daunting task. Initially I was worried about trying to complete this monumental task but I did a little test writing just to see how I’d do and I don’t think I’ll have too big of an issue hitting that 50,000 mark sometime this month. If any of you would like to sign up just click the link above, it is very easy, don’t worry that it has already started, it’s early!

I will be doing a post each day about how my progress is going though some will likely be relatively short and just giving you a general gist of my morale and word count. For me the most fun is interacting with all of the other people that are participating on the NaNoWriMo site, blogs and twitter especially. Don’t get me wrong, I can’t wait to test my capability to write something of this length, but it is that time with all of the other amazing people that I cherish. If you want to add me as a “buddy” on the site you can search for me under frodosco.

I will say that this particular thing that I am writing is a bit on the personal side so I won’t be sharing excerpts or anything of that nature. The only way that I would share anything from a novel is if I start a second one if I finish early which isn’t likely though I have considered the possibility. I encourage you to sign up if you haven’t and if you have make sure to have fun! There are so many amazing activities to partake in, word wars and word sprints to test yourself, and depending on your area ways to hang out with your fellow NaNos. ^.^ For those who don’t know, I am in the Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA area of the world so if I do any events that is where they will be, but there are ones all over the place so check to see what is going on in your area!

Thank you for listening to my babble, I can’t wait to get started! I’ve got snacks ready, caffeine for fuel and a passion to get this particular novel out of my system and onto paper, or at least a microsoft word document. To all that have signed up, good luck! 🙂

Pages Written: 0

Words Written: 0

Snacks Eaten/Drank: None

4 responses

  1. Good luck! It’s so great that you’re participating. I totally wanted to, but it’s not in the cards for me. I think I may do my own personal NanNoWriMo in January. By then, I’ll have the time to do it and will have planned out the novel I’ll be working on. Good luck. I’m excited to follow the progress of all those participating that I know! 😀

    November 1, 2012 at 11:06 am

    • Thank you, I’m having a blast already! Maybe if this one goes well I will join you in a January version so that you don’t have to go it alone. ^.^

      November 1, 2012 at 11:19 am

  2. Ok good luck, I get anxiety just thinking about you having to write like this..eep! I will be rooting for you!

    November 1, 2012 at 3:35 pm

  3. Hey, good luck to you!!! 😀 And have fun with it. That’s the best part about it for me.

    November 1, 2012 at 4:47 pm

You want to leave a comment? Awesome! I read every one! ^.^

