Random Musings by Frodosco

Haunted Week: Written in the Tombstone

Haunted Week: Written in the Tombstone

Haunted Week is hosted by This Girl Reads, all credit for these daily ideas goes to them. ^.^

Today’s post concerns the following: The epitaph is the inscription on a tombstone—you could say it’s a person’s last words. Today, quote the last line of five books. (No spoilers, please!)

This was one of the most fun ones for Haunted Week, it gave me an excuse to pour through part of my book collection to find some of my favorite last lines. I hope you enjoy them!

1. Cell by Stephen King – “‘Hey, Johnny-Gee,’ he said, ‘Fo-fo-you-you.’ And pressed the cell against his son’s ear.” This is a very sad, and meaningful quote from Cell which if you have read it you completely understand. It symbolizes how much the father cares for his son despite how much he doesn’t want to lose him. Sad but good. Expect more Stephen King to come.

2. Blink by Malcolm Gladwell – “When the screen created a pure Blink moment, a small miracle happened, the kind of small miracle that is always possible when we take charge of the first two seconds: they saw her for who she truly was.” I loved all of Gladwell’s books that I have read so far but this ending was by far my favorite. It really just takes having control for a few seconds in order to allow people to see what they should be able to but are often unable to see. Reality.

3. The Gunslinger by Stephen King – “The gunslinger waited for the time of the drawing and dreamed his long dreams of the Dark Tower, to which he would some day come at dusk and approach, winding his horn, to do some unimaginable final battle.” Just awesome. How can you not love Stephen King? I really need to get and read his whole Dark Tower series…someday.

4. Sports From Hell by Rick Reilly – “Still, I did do one smart thing during this quest. About two and a half years into it, I married TLC. I love her. She loves me. And for lonely nights, she beats the bejesus out of ferrets.” This is easily the most humorous last line(s) I chose. I laughed my way through this whole book and it was a very fitting ending that made me chuckle and sigh as I knew the book was at its completion. I’ll have to go back and read this one again someday.

5. Under the Dome by Stephen King – “Pity was not love, Barbie reflected…but if you were a child, giving clothes to someone who was naked had to be a step in the right direction.” Clearly I have a big part of my reading heart devoted to all things King. It isn’t my fault that he has awesome endings! You need to read this book, trust me.

This was definitely a blast to go find all of these endings! I knew that it was likely King would be a big part of my selections though I didn’t know he would be quite that prevalent. I really thought I would have a Grisham quote or perhaps one from one of the many series I have mentioned in previous posts but though those books were excellent their ending lines weren’t quite on the same level. Thanks for reading! What book ending lines do you love? Let me know in the comments!

2 responses

  1. Love the Stephen King ones! Awesome post! 😀

    October 30, 2012 at 10:13 am

  2. King has the best quotes EVER!

    November 1, 2012 at 3:36 pm

You want to leave a comment? Awesome! I read every one! ^.^

