Random Musings by Frodosco

Haunted Week: Tricked or Treated

Haunted Week: Tricked or Treated

Haunted Week is hosted by This Girl Reads, all credit for these daily ideas goes to them. ^.^

Today’s post concerns the following: Some books aren’t at all what you expected—which can be good or bad. Today feature five books you read that were either a pleasant or nasty surprise.

This is an interesting one for me, and a bit tough since I usually know what I am getting myself into when I go to read a book but I will give it a shot!

1. Shaq Uncut by Shaquille O’Neal – I got this as a Christmas present and though I had asked for it I had no idea what the quality of the book would be or what areas of Shaq’s life it would focus on. This was a case where I was “treated” to a wonderful read. I tore through this book loving every detail and I will be making sure to reread it soon. Fantastic.

2. Outliers by Malcolm Gladwell – This was the first book that I read by Gladwell as it was assigned in my first year of college. I absolutely loved it, which probably comes as no surprise to those who read my blog since I have mentioned him a few times before. I now own all four of his books (though as you may have seen I have only read three) and he has quickly become one of my favorite authors. Definitely a “treated” one. ^.^

3. The Red Serpent Trilogy by Rishabh Jain – I’ve mentioned this book a few times (and wrote a review on it) so if you follow my blog you likely know what my thoughts on it are. This was my blog’s first DNF. I won this in a giveaway and when it arrived I was excited as it was one of my first few books that I won that were of the print variety. However, the quality of writing was poor to say the least and I quickly found too many flaws in it to continue reading. “Tricked” indeed.

4. The Sallie House: Exposing the Beast Within by Renee Pawlish – I won a copy of this book in a giveaway last year and had no clue what to expect. It was definitely a short read but I loved it. I can’t say that I was scared while reading (it takes a LOT to scare me via book/movie) but I did enjoy it, in the “treated” pile.

5. Owlet by Emma Michaels – This is another book that I have reviewed on my blog so if you are a follower you know where this one will fall. I was really excited when I found out that I won an eBook copy of Owlet especially since it had just been released. I read it expecting to enjoy the short read but was sorely disappointed. If you want to know more on how I felt about this book read my review here. “Tricked”, sadly.

I hope you enjoyed that mix of “tricked” and “treated” books! It isn’t often that I am surprised by a book but it is refreshing when I don’t know a whole lot about the book I am about to read because it allows everything to be new as I read it. Thanks for reading! What books “tricked” or “treated” you? Let me know in the comments!

One response

  1. Don’t think I’ve read any of those. Thanks for sharing them! 😀

    October 29, 2012 at 9:23 am

You want to leave a comment? Awesome! I read every one! ^.^

