Random Musings by Frodosco

Haunted Week: Skeletons on My Bookshelf

Haunted Week: Skeletons on My Bookshelf

Haunted Week is hosted by This Girl Reads, all credit for these daily ideas goes to them. ^.^

Today’s post concerns the following: Supposedly, everyone has a few skeletons in their closet—I think everyone has a few on their bookshelves, too. Today feature five books you’ve owned for a long time but never read.

This is another really tough one for me as I tend to tear through a book as soon as I get it. I love reading and I almost always make time for a new book. I’ll do my best to try and find five though!

1. The Rainmaker by John Grisham – The first three books I found are going to kill me I swear. I’ve owned the majority of Grisham’s books for years but for whatever reason I never got around to reading The Rainmaker. I’ll fix that someday.

2. Nightmares & Dreamscapes by Stephen King – Like I said, terrible. I only own a small sample of King’s work (I’m working on that) but I haven’t read this one. It is made up of twenty short stories and would be a relatively easy read so hopefully I’ll get to it someday, preferably sooner rather than later.

3. Desperation by Stephen King – >.< Yes, another King book. This is the other one of his that I have owned for a substantial length of time and just never got around to reading. This is more of a regular King book and as such I truly have no excuse for not reading it, I’ll fix it someday.

4. The Chebanenko Slav According to Bologan by Victor Bologan – I was really into chess when I was younger, specifically during my first year of college and I got a few chess books during that time. I read a few of them but this is the first of two that I never got around to. I don’t know if that will change since I just don’t have time for chess anymore and it is a technical read.

5. Chess Openings for Black, Explained by a variety of Grandmasters – This is the second book that is chess related that I never got around to reading. This is also a technical read, though that is not to say a necessarily difficult one, but it is huge and I really just don’t have the time for chess at present.

I know that the last two books aren’t really the type of books that normally go into a post like this but to be honest I don’t own any other books that I have owned for a long time that I haven’t yet at least started. Hopefully you don’t mind and enjoyed the post anyway! What bookish skeletons are in your closet? Let me know in the comments! ^.^

One response

  1. Huh. I’ve never read any Stephen King, but my dad read all of them. I love chess! (Never read a book on it, but I love it.) Now. The Rainmaker. (Isn’t that a movie??) Never read any of your ‘skeletons’ but I hope you get around to them soon! 😉

    Thanks for stopping by my post! 😀

    October 26, 2012 at 9:17 am

You want to leave a comment? Awesome! I read every one! ^.^

