Random Musings by Frodosco

Haunted Week: Bats in Your Book Pages

Haunted Week: Bats in Your Book Pages

Today’s post concerns the following: Even the biggest book enthusiasts have some bats in their belfries about things in books that drive them insane. Today tell your readers about five things that drive you crazy in books.

There are plenty to choose from with this topic. I think everyone has their own quirks about what drives them insane in a book while others have no issue with it or even find those things to be positives. Without further ado here are five of mine in no particular order:

1. Overly Possessive Males: This can apply to females as well though that isn’t nearly as common. Ordering your partner around, forbidding them from doing a variety of different things, NEVER leaving their side to the point of creepiness, practically stalking them before you even meet them. Any of those traits drive me absolutely crazy and often can cause me to completely lose enjoyment in whatever it is I am reading depending on the level of their ridiculousness. I don’t know why these types appeal to people. Ugh.

2. Insta-Love: This is something I know a lot, if not most of the bloggers/bookish people I talk with detest. It takes a lot to recover from insta-love and often it can’t be fixed because the characters are so “over the moon” with each other already. Dear authors who use insta-love, you no longer have ANY depth whatsoever, I don’t care if your writing is gorgeous, if you use insta-love there is a very high probability your book will not be finished, please don’t. Just don’t.

3. Losing Track of Where You Are At: What I mean by this is that sometimes authors forget where they are in the story they are writing, they forget a step they have already taken and so when they “continue” the story it no longer makes any sense. This can be something as minor as having the character take their shirt off and then a few pages later do it again, unless they had layers this obviously doesn’t work. It can also be as major as forgetting two characters had already met and having them introduce themselves again, it’s weird. I know your books are complex but try to keep your characters from doubling an action.

4. Books That Are Clearly Rushed: I know, you have a deadline and you have to meet it, but if your book is so rushed as to be incomprehensible then it doesn’t matter if it is turned in on time. Take your time, build DEPTH to your characters, let the plot flow a bit more naturally instead of rushing to get to that exciting scene. When I read a book I want to immerse myself into their world, in order to do that I need you to actually TELL me some details about that world. You shouldn’t just skim over parts, so please, just slow down a bit.

5. Cliffhanger Endings/”Fall Off a Cliff” Endings: These are two types that often coincide so I’ll just count them as one. Cliffhanger endings as you know leave a bunch of questions unanswered. What I call “Fall Off a Cliff” endings are when your plot is going smoothly enough and then as you get to the ending (this is most common in series books) you not only leave questions unanswered you just abruptly smash into the wall you call an ending. It feels unfinished, unnatural, and I’m sure if your characters were real they’d be wondering what the heck happened there too. I have had books ruined by endings like this and it drives me crazier than any of the previous four because I’m actually ENJOYING the book generally all the way and then when I get to the exciting ending…face smashed into brick wall. Thanks.

So those are five of the things that drive me crazy when it comes to books. There are plenty more I could go over but they were the ones that came to mind the quickest. Thanks for reading! What are a few things that make you crazy when you read a book? Let me know in the comments! ^.^

2 responses

  1. These are all valid pet peeves..i myself hate love triangles , paper characters and poor world-building

    October 25, 2012 at 4:35 pm

  2. Haha, my favorite of these has to be “Fall off a Cliff” endings. It’s definitely annoying when a book is going along great and the author just creates this totally-out-of-nowhere problem so they can leave you “hooked” until the next book comes out. -.-

    Anyways, great post! (:

    October 26, 2012 at 10:16 am

You want to leave a comment? Awesome! I read every one! ^.^

