Random Musings by Frodosco

Haunted Week: Ghosts of Books Half-Read

Haunted Week: Ghosts of Books Half-Read

Haunted Week is hosted by This Girl Reads, all credit for these daily ideas goes to them. ^.^

Today’s post concerns the following: Ever had the feeling that someone was watching you? It just might be the spirit of a book you haven’t put to rest. Today feature five books you began but never finished.

This one is particularly tough for me because it is VERY rare that I do not finish a book but I will do my best to find five if possible.

1. The Red Serpent Trilogy by Rishabh Jain – This is because it was my first DNF for this blog. Not a fan of this book and I don’t plan on revisiting it later.

2. Nephilim Genesis of Evil by Renee Pawlish – I won this book sometime last year and only read part of it while I was on an airplane but never completed it once I got back home. I did enjoy the part of it I did read and someday I will finish it.

3. What the Dog Saw by Malcolm Gladwell – Ugh. This one KILLS me that I never finished it. I LOVE Gladwell’s work, I even own all four of his books, and I just never got around to it, this WILL be fixed soonish.

4. Pleasurable Kingdom: Animals and the Nature of Feeling Good by Jonathan Balcombe – Another one that definitely “haunts” me. I got this book and even had it signed when I was in my first year of college. He was talking about his book among other things at the University of Minnesota and signing books there so I got it, I will definitely finish this one at some point as well.

5. Black Water: Pendragon Series Book #5 – This is where I left off in the Pendragon series when I was a kid. I don’t think I could find the next book in the library at the time so I stopped reading this one about 2/3 through. I’ve since bought almost the entire series and will revisit all of them (probably in a marathon) once the collection is complete.

So there you have it! I’m somewhat surprised I was actually able to find five but it looks like I pulled it off! I definitely need to get to What the Dog Saw first, that one is going to bother me until I’ve read it. I hope you enjoyed this post, the first of Haunted Week and if you did leave me a comment, it can be about my picks, if you are participating your picks, or if not whatever you’d like! Thanks for stopping by. ^.^

6 responses

  1. Haha, I read all of the Pendragon books, but I’ve never read any of the other books on your list. I definitely liked Pendragon, though. But by the end of the series, it definitely got weird….it’s worth reading just for that! 😀

    Megan@The Book Babe

    October 24, 2012 at 7:43 am

  2. Great idea for a post! I love the idea of ghosts of books un-read! 😀 My big one is the Hobbit. Read everything but the very end and have never finished it. Why? No idea! Need to fix that. 😀 Happy Wednesday!

    October 24, 2012 at 10:15 am

    • Haha it wasn’t my idea! All credit goes to This Girl Reads but thank you, I’m glad you liked it! ^.^

      October 24, 2012 at 10:41 am

  3. I shared an excerpt of the Red Serpent..and hoped to read it..but I think I will pass. I usually finish books I start, since I am always afraid it will suddenly morph into greatness, and i will miss out 😦

    October 24, 2012 at 11:19 pm

    • Ya I hate not finishing books, it is VERY rare that I don’t. Red Serpent…ugh. I seriously found no redeeming qualities, made it through about 25% of the way through and then gave up. Just bad writing. =/

      October 24, 2012 at 11:35 pm

  4. Years ago I was more insistent in reading, but the older I’m getting, the more often I give up. So, it was easy for me to pick the 5 books. 🙂
    Here is my first Haunted week post.

    October 25, 2012 at 11:31 am

You want to leave a comment? Awesome! I read every one! ^.^

