Random Musings by Frodosco

Review: Stitch by Samantha Durante

Review: Stitch

I won an eBook copy of Stitch by Samantha Durante in a giveaway over at Passionate Book Divas. I am also thrilled to have been included in the Stitch Blog Tour, thank you Samantha!

Alessa has seen a ghost. What she can’t understand is why her instinct is not to turn and run, but rather to go toward it, she is powerless. Alessa is a college freshman who among dealing with the normal college issues of exams and sorority life is combating nightmares where she is trapped in some sort of cage in the future. However, when she decides to get to the bottom of this apparition the truth she discovers is much worse, and dangerous. The truth is Alessa is not a student, this is not really a college campus and that handsome ghost-like man she keeps seeing is quite real indeed. Will Alessa be able to put all the pieces together? Can she escape the danger she until recently didn’t even know existed?

Before I jump into my review of Stitch I need to qualify what I’ll be saying. I completely forgot about the premise of the book before I read it. Normally that would be a bad thing but in this case it helped make the story fresh and when the characters were surprised you can bet I was too.

I thoroughly enjoyed Stitch. The writing was excellent and the twists that were thrown in completely caught me off guard. I’ve been a sci-fi fan for years and also a hopeless romantic so Stitch appealed to just about every part of the reader in me. The characters were very well done. Alessa’s loss at the beginning of the book and her corresponding apathy toward doing anything productive is something I’ve seen and been a part of in real life so I was easily able to identify with her. If there was anything I could say about the character development that bothered me, though I understand why it was done this way, is that it took so long to get the ghost’s point of view. I would have liked to have more depth with that character and his connection to Alessa rather than the singular point of view that was presented for so long. Oh, and I love Alessa’s best friend Janie, her character was done exquisitely but I can’t go into too much detail without giving it all away. As River Song always says, spoilers!

The plot was very fluid and moved at a good pace, at least for me, though I tend to like a bit more detail than most so it may be just a bit slow for those who prefer a quick breeze-through type of read. Though the college life tends to be mundane, when you combine the appearance of a ghost and the twist that Alessa is actually drawn TO him it certainly was not a dull start to the book. Then when she discovers who the ghost is and that her life as she knows it is a lie the book takes off and flies by until the end. I am happy to say that though this is the first in the series, and there are plenty of questions to be answered it is not a cliffhanger ending. Some cliffhangers can be done well but overall I prefer to have each book in the series be capable of being a stand alone and Stitch definitely is.

I wouldn’t call myself paranoid necessarily, but I often think things might not be as they seem so when Alessa starts to notice that the college campus is really anything but I could envision how she would notice different oddities in her environment. I could easily picture the campus in my mind as I was reading as the imagery was done very well. Oh and the scenes near the end, wonderful! I wish I could say more but again, spoilers.

I can’t wait to read the next book in the series! I would definitely recommend this for anyone, but especially those who love a sci-fi/romance feel but with a more modern/realistic setting. Thank you as always for reading and I hope you enjoy Stitch as much as I did! If you would like to leave a comment I would appreciate it, I love reading them. ^.^

Four Smiling Frodos w Background

3 responses

  1. Pingback: “Epic Plot Twists”, Review, Giveaway & Spotlight @ Crys Book Reviews, Collections & One A Day YA | Samantha Durante

  2. Pingback: A Quartet of Reviews and Ebook Giveaway @ Books and Beyond, Booking It With Hayley G, Frodo’s Blog of Awesomeness & Twisting Minds | Samantha Durante

  3. Eep..the more I read about this the more I want it..love the premises and everything you described..awesome review!

    October 23, 2012 at 2:01 pm

You want to leave a comment? Awesome! I read every one! ^.^

