Random Musings by Frodosco

Review: Dark Light of Day by Jill Archer

Review: Dark Light of Day

I won a 10$ Amazon giftcard in a giveaway and used it to buy Dark Light of Day which I had been desperate to read after reading the first three chapters in an Ace/Roc Sampler that I had won previously.

Dark Light of Day by Jill Archer is about a world where the apocalypse has already occurred and the demons actually won. Despite this change in power the way of life has barely been altered. In fact, it has been so long since Armageddon that the truth about much that happened in that war has been lost or forgotten. Enter Nouiomo Onyx, or Noon as she is better known, who has waning magic, something that no female was ever supposed to have. Some would shun her, or possibly much worse,  if they knew of her unique power so she is forced to hide it until she is accepted and forced to enroll in St. Lucifer’s, a demon law school. There she must declare her special powers or risk death. Will she hide her powers and risk everything, and could there be a way for Noon to reverse them?

I was so excited to dive into Dark Light of Day after being teased with the sampler of the first three chapters so when the book arrived it took all my restraint not to immerse myself in it immediately! I loved that the author chose to have the demons win the war as it was a perspective I had never seen before, at least not where the world was intact and mostly unchanged afterward. I was easily able to connect with Noon and her plight as she dealt with being an oddity at best, an abomination at worst. As those of you who read my blog know, if the character development is excellent I can forgive anything, and though there wasn’t much to forgive with Dark Light of Day the characters were superb for the most part and allowed me to dive into this new reality.

There was one thing that kept Dark Light of Day from reaching its full potential, at least as I see it, and that was the lead male character Ari. I’m not a fan of the controlling, do-as-I-say type of male characters, especially when they are supposed to be appealing. It is that “appeal” he supposedly had that made the situation worse, he was practically irresistible  and that included when he was putting on his dominant male act which I despised. Let me clarify, I don’t have an issue with a strong male character whatsoever, but when it comes to them ordering people around, forbidding them to do certain things and on top of that it supposedly is a sexy thing for the female character? That’s where I have a problem. Ari exhibited signs of uncontrolled jealousy, stalker-like tendencies and all before he really even knew Noon. Not cool.

Outside of Ari and his domineering I did enjoy the book. The plot had plenty of well executed twists and turns and even when it slowed down to cover some of the details in the classes at St. Lucifer’s I never felt like I needed the pace to quicken. The scenery on the campus and the atmosphere that the author created was vivid and breathtaking, which I don’t find is easily done. Having been on a beautiful college campus myself I could envision the different places that were depicted and never felt as if they were contrived. Oh, and without giving too much away, the battle scenes, oh how I loved them! They were exquisitely done. ^.^

I really enjoyed reading Dark Light of Day, and if it weren’t for Ari’s chauvinistic tendencies I easily would have given this an enthusiastic five smiling frodo rating. With that nagging annoyance throughout the book, however, I will give it a very satisfied four. =)  I hope you enjoyed reading my review, make sure to comment and let me know what you think about chauvinistic characters, or if you have read it what you thought about Dark Light of Day! Thanks for reading!

Four Smiling Frodos w Background

5 responses

  1. Great Review. Dark Light of Day somehow passed me by because this is the first I’ve seen of it.

    October 15, 2012 at 3:32 am

  2. I’m not big on angel/demon stories, but I do like post-apocalyptic and dystopian kind of stuff, so I wasn’t sure if I wanted to read this one. Your review makes it sound pretty great, though, so maybe I’ll TBR it. Thanks! 😀

    October 15, 2012 at 9:47 am

  3. The behavior you’re talking about with Ari’s character makes me crazy, too! I hate reading books where one of the characters (sometimes it’s a female character) acts like that, and yet somehow it’s supposed to be attractive and not at all creepy. Yeah, right.

    Otherwise, this sounds like a neat story. I like the idea that no one remembers what the world was like before the apocalypse, and demon presence is the new normal. Great review!

    Returning your follow via Linky.

    October 15, 2012 at 10:08 am

  4. I have been wanting to buy a copy of this one but sadly I haven’t seen many reviews around the blogging world.

    I’m glad that you enjoyed the story so much with the exception of Ari. I honestly don’t know why authors are making such demanding male characters lately go so wrong. I mean I’m all about a great male character who has some Dom tendencies but lately it seems instead of it coming off the way it needs to that the male characters are just annoying and upset the reader with how possessive they are. There is a fine line between doing an alpha male right and getting it so wrong. I’m sorry that in this book the male didn’t work but I think I’m willing to give him and Noon a chance.

    Thanks for the great review and for signing up for the 22 on 22 Read-a-Thon on my blog!

    October 17, 2012 at 8:12 am

  5. hmm..despite Ari I like the sounds of this, awesome review and congrats on winner the gift card..will add this to my wishlist.

    October 21, 2012 at 10:36 am

You want to leave a comment? Awesome! I read every one! ^.^

