Random Musings by Frodosco

Dewey’s 24hr Read-A-Thon

Dewey’s Read-A-Thon

Here is my list of things that I will keep track of, although I will also post mini-challenge updates below as well as they go on:

Currently Reading: It is time for my reward for completing the read-a-thon so I am reading Burn For Burn by Jenny Han!

Books Finished: Dark Light of Day by Jill Archer, The Reanimation of Edward Schuett by Derek J. Goodman, Here Lies Death by Harlan Vaughn, The Sun Never Rises in the Big City by Jeremy C. Shipp.

Pages Read: 655

Amount of Time Spent Reading: 12 hours 15 minutes

Snacks Eaten: Yogurt (2), Coke (2 cans), 2/3 small supreme pizza, Dr. Pepper (3 cans), Oreos (1), NutriGrain Mixed Berry Bar (1)

Challenges Participated In: Oldies but Goodies, Turn to Page, Book Blogger Bingo, Read-A-Thon-A-Crostic, Day Break, Book Puzzle, Literacy Mini-Challenge, Challenge Your Brain While Reading, Six Word Celebration, Book Sentences, Show It Off, Opposite Title Puzzle, Book to Movie, End of Event Meme

If you would like to join just click on the button above for all the updates on the read-a-thon, have fun!

*I had to go out of the house to stock up on snacks and to get some pizza to munch on while I dive into the books but I swear by the end of this I WILL have read 3-4. 🙂 – 5:18 PM CST (Hour 11)

** I thought people might like to see my snacks so here they are! – 11:21 PM CST (Hour 17)

Mid-Event Survey – 7:00 PM CST, Hour 13

1) How are you doing? Sleepy? Are your eyes tired?

I’m doing fantastic in terms of stamina even though I have been up since 2:30 AM CST! ^.^

2) What have you finished reading?

Sadly only Dark Light of Day which I only needed to finish 100 pages of during Dewey but I’m close with Reanimation and I’m focusing more on the books and less on the challenges even if they are really fun! No distractions!

3) What is your favorite read so far?

I loved Dark Light of Day! It’s a fantastic read, you really must get it if you haven’t already, there is a link above. 🙂

4) What about your favorite snacks?

Ooo well I have them listed above, I haven’t really dug into them too much, the pizza was delicious though!

5) Have you found any new blogs through the readathon? If so, give them some love!

Well I found the ones which hosted the challenges but they are too numerous to mention so if you are interested please click the button above to go visit the main host! I’ve also interacted with a couple through this post which has been fun. ^.^

Introductory Questions

1) What fine part of the world are you reading from today?

A: Minnesota, USA

2) Which book in your stack are you most looking forward to?

Burn For Burn by Jenny Han

3) Which snack are you most looking forward to?

Pizza if I can get my hands on it!

4) Tell us a little something about yourself!

I’m 20 years old and a recovering Lord of the Rings fanatic, though I don’t think I’m very successful in my recovery. :p I love reading any genre of books and the more the better which is why I am thrilled to join in (even late) to this read-a-thon! Oh and I am a tad crazy when it comes to memes as I tend to comment on EVERY post made so…ya. Off to bookland!

5) If you participated in the last read-a-thon, what’s one thing you’ll do different today? If this is your first read-a-thon, what are you most looking forward to?

I have not participated in this read-a-thon though I did participate in a different one a bit ago called Fraterfest! I’m excited to interact with the other bloggers and to dive into some great bookish goodness!

The “Oldies but Goodies” Mini-Challenge

Q: What classic book should ALL high school aged children read and why?

A: I am with the majority of people in this challenge and have chosen To Kill a Mockingbird. It is a very touching story that still gets to me each time I read it but it is also very educational in nature. The high school aged children seem to be reading less and less in general so let’s put one of the best classics in their hands and hope it can inspire them!

Turn To Page Mini-Challenge

Challenge: Turn to page 32 of the book you are currently reading and find the most entertaining phrase to complete the following sentence: “If only you knew ____, you’d run screaming into the night!”

A: If only you knew the world outside looked like Armageddon, you would run screaming into the night!

I know it isn’t the best in the world obviously but that page was not particularly helpful, I did my best I swear! Back to reading! ^.^

Book Blogger Bingo Mini-Challenge

Challenge: Find a blogger for each letter of B-I-N-G-O that corresponds with the categories.

Categories: B – A blogger you have never come across before, I – A blogger whose name has the word book in it, N – A blogger who lives in Europe, G – A male blogger, O – A blogger whose read-a-thon pile has more than 5 books in it

Result: I actually challenged myself a little further, I tried (and almost succeeded) to have either the blogger’s name or blog start or include the corresponding letter.

I will post the blog’s later on. 🙂

Read-A-Thon-A-Crostic

Challenge: Take the title of your current book or a book you’ve already finished today and create an Acrostic.

Result: I am currently reading a book with an exceptionally long title but I took it in stride.

The Reanimation of Edward Schuett

Thrilling Hilarious Ego

Revolting Enigmatic Apocalyptic Nefarious Intelligent Male Atrophy Terrifying Ill Ogle Nature

Ornery Feral

Entwined Disastrous Waning Alarming Rectified Dangerous

Sacrifice Cannibalism Hunger Undead Egregious Terrific Torture

I hope you enjoyed reading it! ^.^

Day Break

Challenge: Go outside for a bit and separate yourself from technology, books and the indoors in general than come back and comment on it telling what you did.

Result: I went outside and danced in the rain! I even jumped in a puddle! (I know, I’m a dork, or as I prefer it a kid at heart ^.^)

Book Puzzle

Challenge: Create a set of pictures to use as a puzzle representing the title of one of the books you are reading.

Can you figure out what the name of the book is? Leave me a comment with your guess and at the end I will see who got it! ^.^

Literacy Mini-Challenge

Challenge: Create a post celebrating the reading child.

Result: There were a plethora of ways in which to participate in this challenge but I am choosing to discuss some of what my relationship with reading was like when I was younger.

I was a very lucky kid when it came to reading and books in general. My mom is a high school teacher and my grandmother was a librarian so my love of books began almost immediately when my mom and grandmother would read to me before I learned how to myself. A little after I turned four years old I started reading by myself, small books at first, but chapter books followed soon after. Reading to me still reminds me of that time with my family, even if we weren’t reading the same thing it was a closeness that we shared and still do at times. I also remember feeling that because I could read I was growing up, I was capable of doing the same things as the people I looked up to the most and that made me feel special. I’ve never lost that love for reading, books fascinate me in a way that nothing else can and I am forever thankful to my family for sharing that gift with me.

Challenge Your Brain While Reading

Challenge: Choose a book that would be challenging for you to read, something not in your usual array of genres. Then choose any favorite words you may have, especially ones you don’t use often, and any that you come across while reading that you weren’t familiar with.

Response:

Book That Would Be Difficult: A Dead Red Oleander by RP Dahlke – This is a book in the highlander genre which is not something I am used to reading, I won it in a giveaway a couple weeks ago but haven’t gotten around to it.

Favorite Words: Nefarious – Adjective – Meaning: Wicked or criminal

                                   Enigmatic – Adjective – Meaning: Difficult to interpret or understand; mysterious

                                   Atrophy – Noun – Meaning: A wasting away or progressive decline

Six Word Celebration

Challenge: Create a six word celebration of Dewey’s Read-A-Thon!

Result: A brilliant flash of spontaneous wonderment!

Book Sentences

Challenge: Using three or more print books, use only their titles to create a sentence, you can’t add any words.

Result: I loved this challenge and I found a great set of three, here they are!

The Dragons of Krynn Scorched The Snow Garden

How awesome is that?!

Show It Off

Challenge: Show off a book or books from your library that you are extremely proud of.

Result: Here are a few books that are my personal favorites for different reasons –

Full Blooded by Amanda Carlson is special to me because it is the first Advanced Reader Copy (ARC) I ever received. The Trading Game was huge for me as it kindled my passion for sports cards and sports in general which has stuck with me over the years and has caused me to amass a sports card collection around 5,000+. The Firm & Cell are written by my two favorite authors whom I have loved for over a decade, they made books come to life for me. Finally, and most importantly, The Lord of the Rings trilogy which gave me the identity I have had for over ten years. That’s right, I have been called some variation of “Frodo” for over a decade to the point that using my real name is awkward in comparison. I have so many books that mean the world to me but these are definitely at the top of the heap. 🙂

Opposite Title Puzzle

Challenge: Take one of the books you are reading for the read-a-thon and change all the words to be the exact opposite.

Result: I read Dark Light of Day during this read-a-thon so mine went as follows:

Bright Shadows of Night = Dark Light of Day

What’s yours? ^.^

Book to Movie Mini-Challenge

Challenge: Choose one of the books you have read during the read-a-thon and cast the movie. Interesting director? Actor for bit part?

Result: I am casting The Reanimation of Edward Schuett by Derek J. Goodman –

Woody Harrelson as Edward Schuett

Michelle Rodriguez as Liddie Gates

Milla Jovovich as Rae Neuman

Woody Harrelson has plenty of experience in zombie movies as it is, I’m sure he could play one that was turning (mostly) back into a human and he has that goofy quality about him while still being able to lash out at people, great combo though he is a bit old for the role. Michelle Rodriguez is just bad-ass and she is beautiful and just about the right age to play Liddie Gates, Woody’s main love interest. Finally, the third main character is Rae Neuman, the no-nonsense bruiser that takes care of business but does so with a little flair and always with her gun at her side, I’m pretty sure Milla Jovovich would crush that role. ^.^

End of Event Meme

  1. Which hour was most daunting for you? Hours 21 and 22, I had been up since 2 AM CST the previous day.
  2. Could you list a few high-interest books that you think could keep a Reader engaged for next year? I loved The Reanimation of Edward Schuett, it comes out this month so I’d recommend that!
  3. Do you have any suggestions for how to improve the Read-a-thon next year? As fun as all of the challenges are, doing them every hour (when many take a minimum of 15min to complete) takes away a large chunk of reading time. Otherwise great!
  4. What do you think worked really well in this year’s Read-a-thon? The hosts were amazing!
  5. How many books did you read? 2 1/3 regular books and a short story
  6. What were the names of the books you read? You can see them above but they were: Dark Light of Day, The Reanimation of Edward Schuett, Here Lies Death & the short story The Sun Never Dies in the Big City.
  7. Which book did you enjoy most? Dark Light of Day though I only needed to finish the last 100 pages during Dewey
  8. Which did you enjoy least? Here Lies Death but not because it was bad by any means, I think I was just really tired, it did drag
  9. If you were a Cheerleader, do you have any advice for next year’s Cheerleaders? I was not but they are amazing! My suggestion would be to use TweetChat if you aren’t already so you can follow along with the people using the hashtag, you won’t miss anyone who could use a boost. 🙂
  10. How likely are you to participate in the Read-a-thon again? What role would you be likely to take next time? I will definitely be participating in this and other read-a-thons again! I absolutely love diving into my TBR pile and getting to interact with other wonderful readers!

That’s it guys, that’s all she wrote, or in this case read! If you are a follower of this blog just a quick reminder to check my Sunday Post if you haven’t already to see what is coming up and that I’ll be posting my review of Dark Light of Day this afternoon/night. If you are new to my blog, which I know many of you are, welcome! Don’t hesitate to subscribe via your preferred method and comment as much as you desire, I read them all and really do appreciate it! ^.^ Enjoy your Sunday!

16 responses

  1. megan

    Here Lies Death?
    Here is mine http://wp.me/pzUn5-1fE

    October 13, 2012 at 3:29 pm

  2. You might have been late in starting but you seem to have been taking part in quite a few mini challenges.
    I expect to take part the whole read-a-thon but have yet to take part in a mini challenge. Happy reading

    October 13, 2012 at 4:30 pm

  3. Lovely memories. Very like my own. My Mom was a Jr High Home Ec teacher before I was born and tho she was ever after a 50s era stat-at-home mom she always had the soul of a teacher. I learned to read by watching the word under her finger as she said it. I learned to see the words whole and recognize them from above, below, left and right. It wasn’t until late in third grade they discovered I did not know how to read phonetically.

    thanx for participating. enjoy the rest of the thon

    October 13, 2012 at 5:41 pm

  4. Gosh, I had no clue on the Book Puzzle – I was thinking A Sleeping (Reclining?) Death, though I’m guessing Megan’s choice was a lot smarter 🙂 Thanks for participating!

    October 13, 2012 at 6:22 pm

  5. That is a great sentence! Thanks for participating!

    October 14, 2012 at 1:26 am

  6. Wow–looks like you’re having a great readathon. Keep it up!! #cheertamales

    October 14, 2012 at 2:33 am

  7. Lord of the Rings! – be still my heart. Also, you’re right about that first ARC – it really is a special occasion for us book bloggers! Thanks for sharing

    October 14, 2012 at 3:28 am

  8. You’re still going–that amazing! Almost to the finish line now!! 🙂 #cheertamales

    October 14, 2012 at 5:41 am

  9. Wow, you’ve read and done a lot! The first time I tried to do all the minichallenges, but now I only check them every three hours and I am a bit picky about the ones I participate in. That helps with the time constraint, I have found. (Then again, you didn’t go off to sleep a handful of hours during the night as I did, that helps in getting more things done, of course!)

    October 14, 2012 at 6:51 am

  10. Sounds like you had a great Read-a-thon! I love monitoring the Twitter hash tag — it makes me feel connected to everyone.

    October 14, 2012 at 7:08 am

  11. Wow, looks like you had plenty of snacks, did a lot of challenges and even got some reading done. I sooo wanted to do this..but after 4 days last week..i was afraid my family would disown me..LOL

    October 14, 2012 at 9:28 am

  12. therelentlessreader

    I’m glad to hear you’ll be doing it all again, I will be too! What a great event 🙂

    The Relentless Reader

    October 14, 2012 at 1:37 pm

  13. Glad to hear you had so much fun! Your snacks look particularly tasty.

    October 14, 2012 at 6:24 pm

  14. Pingback: Dewey’s Read-a-thon: Crossing the Finish Line « Azuki's Book Cafe

  15. Thanks for the tip about tweetchat. Will check it out. See you at the next Dewey’s, if not sooner. Will let you know if there is an interesting RAT coming up.

    October 14, 2012 at 10:08 pm

You want to leave a comment? Awesome! I read every one! ^.^

