Random Musings by Frodosco

Review: The Red Serpent Trilogy by Rishabh Jain

The Red Serpent Trilogy

I won The Red Serpent Trilogy in a giveaway on Reading and Writing Urban Fantasy and Paranormal Romance.

The Red Serpent Trilogy takes place in a time where vampires have taken over the Earth and the majority of what is left of the human population is living in a spaceport on a nearby asteroid. The story centers on Alexander who is half human and half vampire and the prophecy that states he will bring the end to either the vampire or human race. A vampire who claims to be Alexander’s uncle shows up at the human spaceport and forcefully takes him back to Earth and the vampire headquarters. Alexander must choose between his mother’s people, the humans, or his fathers the vampires, his choice will determine the future of both races and condemn one to extinction.

When I won the giveaway for The Red Serpent Trilogy I was pretty excited to dive into it after reading the blurb on Amazon, vampires vs. humans, the fate of Earth and all centered around a hybrid young man, count me in! However, once I started reading the book I was struck by the poor quality of the writing immediately but chose to push through it for a while to see if it would improve when the plot picked up. Sadly it was not to be. The Red Serpent Trilogy felt like it was written by a grade-school kid who was attempting to write a book but really just wanted to get to the fun battle between the two races. The beginning was sloppy and very rushed, there were little to no explanations for any of the events that occurred early on and this Alexander is just about the luckiest guy in the universe when it comes to being able to eavesdrop.

The vampire arriving in the spaceport was completely random. There was no explanation for how he got there, why, or how no one noticed his presence. There is also a scene shortly afterward in the cell on Earth where the vampires are holding Alexander that is completely unbelievable. Without going into too much detail Alexander’s vampire uncle does a bigger flip-flop than most politicians with a corny and pathetic excuse given for his reasoning to do so.

I was going to push through the book but eventually the poor writing mixed with the weak characters forced me to put the book down. I quit about a quarter of the way through and I can’t say I feel bad about that, it wasn’t worth the time or energy to put up with. Simply put I don’t recommend this to anyone, I think it desperately needs editing though I don’t know if that would salvage it. I will say that the author is only 22 and based on his (ridiculously long) Amazon profile it would seem he wrote The Red Serpent Trilogy when he was 16. He may improve as a writer in the future but I don’t think I will have the patience to find out.

As always thank you for reading and leave a comment if you would like to, I do read them all! ^.^

                                   Rating: DNF/Don’t Read

You want to leave a comment? Awesome! I read every one! ^.^

