Random Musings by Frodosco

Fraterfest: My Thoughts & Results

Fraterfest: My Thoughts & Results

Fraterfest Read-A-Thon was a fun way for bloggers to attack their TBR piles, specifically the books that contain “things that go bump in the night” (think vampires, zombies, werewolves, shapeshifters, ghosts, etc.) and was hosted by the amazing Kimba the Caffeinated Book Reviewer.

Results:

Challenges Completed – 7/7

Books Read – Attic Clowns: Volumes 1 & 2 (Also did a mini-review here)

                         – Attic Clowns: Volume 4

                         – Here Be Monsters

                         – Aberrations: Horror Stories

                         – Zombified

Participated In – #Fraterfest Twitter Party (I won some awesome swag there too ^.^) & Fraterfest Raffle

My Thoughts:

I had a blast participating in Fraterfest from Friday – Monday! I will say that I didn’t get to attack as much of my TBR pile as I had planned to because I took a couple unexpected trips into the cities (Minneapolis/St.Paul) due to Half Price Books having their yearly mega sale (everything 3$ and under, I’ll be doing a separate post on this and my ridiculous haul so look for that in the coming week or so). I do plan on (hopefully) getting to read Pretty When She Dies by Rhiannon Frater tonight/tomorrow so that I can really embrace the “Frater” part of the fest. ^.^

The challenges were really fun, although some of them made my brain hurt, and I know that the other participants enjoyed them too! My favorite part about Fraterfest, though, was the twitter party! I was still on the road coming back (not driving btw) and so I could only participate via phone but it was still really fun. I got to meet a bunch of new bookish people on twitter (and gain some great new followers) and even won the swag! I can’t wait to see what that will be. We even had a somewhat funny ending as our host had reached her daily tweet limit right as she was about to thank everyone for participating (at the very end) which seemed to fit in with all of the goofiness involved.

I would absolutely take part in something like this again, especially if it is hosted by the lovely Kimba! I plan to join more “fests” like this from other blogs I follow in the future though I don’t know which ones at the moment, this one kind of just sprung up on me.

As far as the books goes I loved having an excuse to just attack a portion (albeit a small one) of my TBR pile! I got to read some fun and freaky stories, my favorites being the Attic Clowns books by Jeremy C. Shipp, and I will be reading Pretty When She Dies as I mentioned earlier so that will be great. Any reasoning to be able to read more is good in my book (see what I did there? :p).

As always thank you so much for reading and I hope you participated in Fraterfest at some level, and if not that you at least read some cool books over the weekend. =D If you would like to subscribe you can do so via the usual methods, I do appreciate it, oh and comment! I read them all you know. ^.^ Have a great week!

One response

  1. wow you did really awesome..you made all of your goals and I am so glad Fraterfest was everything I wanted it to be for you. ❤ Thanks for the shout–outs and tweets. Yay..i was in twitter jail (can check that off my bucket list) I plan on doing this again!

    October 8, 2012 at 9:22 pm

You want to leave a comment? Awesome! I read every one! ^.^

