Random Musings by Frodosco

Review: Shades of War by Sarah-Jane Lehoux

Shades of War by Sarah-Jane Lehoux

I was fortunate enough to be given a PDF copy of Shades of War by Sarah-Jane Lehoux in exchange for an honest review. So without further ado, my thoughts on Shades of War!

Shades of War brings us back into Sevy’s world of dark elves, pixies and one very odd monkey. Sevy accepts a seemingly easy mission of going to the Northern Jungles and bringing back a soldier home to his parents. However, because nothing is ever easy for Sevy she finds herself in the middle of a war between humans and the dark elves that reside in the Northern Jungles. Old memories are stirred when she comes across someone she had long since forgot and when she gets to know this soldier she’s supposed to persuade. When she discovers an old friend being held prisoner her plans change and she must rescue them from captivity, and escape herself. Can Sevy save her friends and herself while still completing her mission? Will she be able to help stop this oncoming battle between dark elves and humans and can she figure out who the mysterious murderer of 16 humans is before it is to late?

As some of you may know I previously reviewed the first book in this series, Thief, and gave it a glowing five star (or five smiling frodo) review. I am happy to report that Shades of War was just as excellent as its predecessor! Before I continue I want to share a couple tweets I sent out earlier today pertaining to this review:

So as you can see I have a hard time getting my emotions for these books into words that fully display what I was feeling as I read, but I’ll do my best. I loved this book, it was effortless reading it, the writing was excellent yet again and the characters were just as gripping as they had been in Thief. Sevy was still a fiery and cocky character but we got to see more of her softer side in Shades of War which was refreshing as it gave more of a well-rounded feel to her. We also got our first look into the minds of a couple other major characters from the previous book which I won’t go into detail describing so as to not spoil it for potential readers. Suffice it to say the other characters had new-found depth and the story was all the more rich because of it.

The plot was just as gripping in Shades of War as it had been in Thief despite some more tender scenes and I never felt like I could put the book down! Without going into any spoilers the author puts Sevy through the ringer in this one, if you thought it was rough for her in Thief you’ll be amazed at what she has to go through in Shades of War. The suffering isn’t limited to her though as everyone in Sevy’s world seems to be plagued by one unfortunate event after another, though it is not carried out in a way as to be depressing. You’ll find battles, love scenes and did I mention an odd monkey? I love that monkey.

There is no lack of humor despite the atrocities committed around the characters throughout their journey which keeps the reader engaged, and trust me you’ll do a real life “lol” more than once. ^.^ Oh and the twists, she’ll get you with a few of those let me tell you! I couldn’t get enough of Shades of War and I wish it didn’t have to come to an end. I can’t wait until Masquerade, the third book in the series, comes out which I believe is scheduled for late October or early November. You’ll likely see it on an addition of Waiting On Wednesday in the coming weeks. If you want to buy it just click on the picture of the cover above. 🙂

Complaints: Go a bit easier on Sevy in Masquerade for the love of all that is good Sarah-Jane! :p

Recommendation: To any lover of great writing I would recommend buying this TODAY! Get both of them, do it, go, go, go!

Five Smiling Frodos w Background

You want to leave a comment? Awesome! I read every one! ^.^

