Random Musings by Frodosco

Review: Full Blooded by Amanda Carlson

Full Blooded by Amanda Carlson

I was lucky enough to win Amanda Carlson’s Full Blooded in a giveaway a few weeks ago and though I know it took me a bit longer than I had planned I’m thrilled to be able to give a review of it!

I know this will seem like I just love every book I read (since my last review was 5/5) but I LOVED Full Blooded! This book was completely in my wheelhouse as it incorporated plenty of action, different types of supernatural characters and even some romance thrown in. There were twists and turns all throughout and the ending, man did I love that ending! If I don’t catch myself I’ll just start into an endless rant of gushing and exclamation points. Alright moving on.

Full Blooded centers around Jessica McClain who has grown up in a family of werewolves where she was considered at best a miracle and at worst the end of the world as the pack knows it. There weren’t supposed to be females born from a werewolf/human partnership, and there hadn’t been until Jessica. She has lived the last seven years away from the pack trying to live a normal life having never changed into a werewolf herself. Her world changes completely when she experiences unbelievable pain and does what members of her family’s pack thought impossible, she changes into the first female werewolf.

I’ll stop there to avoid spoilers but suffice it to say Jessica’s transformation opens up a proverbial Pandora’s box of insanity and excitement and with it a look into a world filled with all sorts of supernatural wonderment. I love Amanda Carlson’s version of werewolves, there is something familiar for those who have read books such as The Twilight Saga, but with her own unique twists to keep it from becoming a stale rendition of what has been done in the genre before.

I will say that there is some…intense romantic scenes in Full Blooded that I fully enjoyed, but the combination of those with the violent ones throughout the book definitely keep this work out of the YA section.

I know that Full Blooded was just released ten days ago but I am already salivating over the release of the next title, Hot Blooded so that I can join Jessica McClain and her somewhat excessively hormonal wolf alter ego in their next adventure! Thanks go to The Bookaholic Cat for doing the giveaway where I won my ARC of Full Blooded and to Amanda Carlson for writing such a masterpiece!

Four Smiling Frodos w Background

One response

  1. I’ll check it out. I’m a sucker for a good werewolf tale.

    September 22, 2012 at 5:30 am

You want to leave a comment? Awesome! I read every one! ^.^

